Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This should be called if you like baked barley you will love this!!! This is a recipe you can add (or subtract) an infinite amount of ingredients to. For instance having a few loose ends in the fridge and I included broccoli stocks, a few leftover green beans, a carrot finely chopped for colour, extra onion because I love onions, and I used an onion soup mix as the stock which was all I had on hand and it was great (saying so myself).... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was so good. Didn't use nuts or mushrooms, but added carrots when I sauteed the onions, and frozen corn before putting in the oven. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
We absolutely love this! It's easy to put together with common ingredients, it's filling, tastes great and is relatively inexpensive to make make and is nutritious. What more could we ask of any dish that isn't chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Liked it a lot. Added cumin for more depth of flavor. Used baby Bella mushrooms. Will definitely make again: My 2 1/2 year old daughter ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Haas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This side dish was good, but not one I will be making again. My DH thought it tasted like something that came out of a box. I subbed green pepper for the mushrooms, as we are not fans of them. We liked all the ingredients in this, but I think it was the pine nuts that threw him off. I served this with marinated flank steak and 'Special Deviled Eggs' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Easy and tasty. I had no pine nuts so substituted with sliced almonds. Also added some diced celery and garlic, some Italian herb mix, cherry tomatoes, and chopped spinach (this one only added in last 10 min of baking). Topped off with some shredded parmesan/cheddar mix for the last 10 min of bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Added truffle oil and rosemary - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I use allrecipes exclusively, but rarely review recipes unless I have something to add to the discussion. This was wonderful, I'd give it more stars if I could. I've added barley to my diet as it's supposed to help lower cholesterol. This will be a regular at our house! Also, I found a very easy way to prepare it: a small crockpot. I used what I had on hand; which was hulled barley (it's more nutritional), sliced almonds (no pine nuts) and left out the mushrooms (didn't have any). I followed other suggestions and used about 3 Tbs olive oil for browning. Than into the crockpot and in about 3 hours it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is one of my very favorite recipes. I was only able to give it 4 stars as I did modify it slightly. I use chicken broth instead of veggie broth, added a clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper and 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper. I, like many others, cut the butter down slightly (about 1/6 cup). It is however pretty vital to the overall taste of the dish. The 'soupiness' once the dish is cooked that some have complained about, will be mostly absorbed in 5 minutes from removing it from the oven. The remaining moisture assists in reheating it for the next day so this has not been a problem for me. I will reiterate what another reviewer stated, 'never use quick barley in this dish'. Made that mistake once; it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States