Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I use beef broth, chili powder to taste, add leftover roast beef, cubed green peppers, carrots, mushrooms, almonds and, during the last ten minutes; cherry tomatoes. Sometimes melt cheese on top and serve with french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Overall, I really enjoyed this recipe but I did make a number of changes. I had a little more than 1 cup of barley (maybe 1/4 cup?) so I threw it all in. I tripled the mushrooms to make it a meatier dish, and I used 1-32oz carton of chicken broth to accomodate for the extra barley. Apparently it was a bit too much extra! The added mushrooms probably didn't help the liquid situation either. The flavor was great albeit a bit simple. I love the pine nuts - a great contrast to the chewiness of the barley. I sprinkled the dish with a little more green onion tops when serving. And I omitted the parsley all together because frankly, I don't like parsley! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I saw this recipe today and thought I'd give it a try once I got home for something new! I changed the recipe alittle bit since I didn't have any pine nuts or mushrooms. Instead I used one zuchinni and one orange bell pepper. As well I used the chicken broth - 1 cup and 1 cup of tomato juice. This turned out amazing and so tasty!! We ate the whole cassarole dish! Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLarkin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was worried about the texture of this dish being too uniform, I was so happy to be wrong! The pine nuts got a bit toasted and it tasted amazing! I added more mushrooms and had to bake it for longer to soak up all the liquid. I would bake it hotter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was amazing! My husband was very skeptical, but after trying it he just loved it. He said he wouldn't mind eating it multiple times a week! To me the mushrooms really made the dish. I used baby bellas and they gave the dish a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, great as a side dish or eaten alone. The flavor is great and the texture is kept interesting with the pine nuts. The only modification I made was using chicken broth rather than veggie. I also had to leave it in the oven for an hour and 45 minutes before the liquid was absorbed. Next time, I'll either raise the heat a little, or just plan for the extra time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
OMG this was delicious!!! I like to mix it up add random veggies I have in my fridge (or are craving) and every time I make this it is FABULOUS. Thanks so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Simple and delicious. My version included ground beef and beef broth for an extra rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good and very easy to make. I stuck closely to the recipe, though I added a few sunflower seeds in addition to the pine nuts, per another reviewer's suggestion. I also added a little bit of dried garlic, and more mushrooms than called for. I ate this as an entree just because I was trying it out, but I think it would really be a perfect side dish for the holidays, or for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
So good! I used olive oil instead of butter but the first time it was far to greasy. Second try I cut the fat by just more than half and it was much better. Would be even better with roasted cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States