Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We've made this multiple times this winter. You can switch up the veggies - we tend to use diced carrots, turnip, parsnip, celeriac, etc. The pine nuts are genius! And though I'm sure you can reduce the butter, it's yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Yummy yum yum! My husband said, "I don't know what this is, but I like it!" Me too! I did use beef broth and slivered almonds instead of veg broth and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I really like this! The first time I made it I jotted down the recipe on scratch paper and accidentally used 2 cups, rather than two cans, of broth. Needless to say, the barley was a little chewy. :) The second time, still not realizing the error in how much broth I was using, I used one can of broth and covered the dish with foil for the first hour of baking. Turned out great! I may just do it that way from now on, though I'm a little curious about how it would turn out with two cans of broth. I double or triple the amount of mushrooms when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Awesome. I was confused about whether to cover it or uncover it... so I covered for the first 3/4 of the time and uncovered for the last 1/4. It was pretty soupy still but it tasted great and after it set for a little, most of the liquid absorbed. I cut the butter down a lot. It's not necessary. And I suggest using low sodium chix broth. I also subbed basil instead of parsley which was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family absolutely loved this. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is so much better than I expected! I love this. I added parsley and green onion as a garnish. Great recipe! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Used chicken broth, 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter, slivered almonds instead of pine nuts, and added rosemary. Omitted green onions. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really good! Added broccoli and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have made this repeatedly, and for company, and it's always great. I've never had green onions. I have subbed dried parsley and dried onion. I didn't want to part with my precious pine nuts, so I used chopped almonds on all occasions with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Delicious and easy! This was more a mushroom-barley bake for me, because I used 1.5c mushrooms (I love them). I browned the onions before adding the barley, used olive oil, and didn't add the pine nuts until after baking, because I prefer them crunchy. This was just as good without the nuts (I forgot to add them at first!). I might sub thyme for parsley and add garlic next time. A perfect dish for a chilly fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States