Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was amazingly good. Even my husband (who will eat nothing odd and never heard of barley or pine nuts) had a large helping and said "not bad". I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Yum! I didn't have pine nuts or green onions but I did add some fresh kale while frying the onions and barley. Extra healthy and very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Meerdink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Yummy!.. we are trying to eat healthier and I didn't feel guilty at all having seconds of this dish!.. I kept this on the stove top until done... Simmered about 50 minutes; subbed some chopped almonds for the pine nuts. chicken broth for the veg.. broth and added some slivered carrot. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
The barley was still hard after 1hour and half... more liquid and bake time and still hard.. will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We've made this multiple times this winter. You can switch up the veggies - we tend to use diced carrots, turnip, parsnip, celeriac, etc. The pine nuts are genius! And though I'm sure you can reduce the butter, it's yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Yummy yum yum! My husband said, "I don't know what this is, but I like it!" Me too! I did use beef broth and slivered almonds instead of veg broth and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I really like this! The first time I made it I jotted down the recipe on scratch paper and accidentally used 2 cups, rather than two cans, of broth. Needless to say, the barley was a little chewy. :) The second time, still not realizing the error in how much broth I was using, I used one can of broth and covered the dish with foil for the first hour of baking. Turned out great! I may just do it that way from now on, though I'm a little curious about how it would turn out with two cans of broth. I double or triple the amount of mushrooms when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Awesome. I was confused about whether to cover it or uncover it... so I covered for the first 3/4 of the time and uncovered for the last 1/4. It was pretty soupy still but it tasted great and after it set for a little, most of the liquid absorbed. I cut the butter down a lot. It's not necessary. And I suggest using low sodium chix broth. I also subbed basil instead of parsley which was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family absolutely loved this. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is so much better than I expected! I love this. I added parsley and green onion as a garnish. Great recipe! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States