Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I really like this! The first time I made it I jotted down the recipe on scratch paper and accidentally used 2 cups, rather than two cans, of broth. Needless to say, the barley was a little chewy. :) The second time, still not realizing the error in how much broth I was using, I used one can of broth and covered the dish with foil for the first hour of baking. Turned out great! I may just do it that way from now on, though I'm a little curious about how it would turn out with two cans of broth. I double or triple the amount of mushrooms when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Awesome. I was confused about whether to cover it or uncover it... so I covered for the first 3/4 of the time and uncovered for the last 1/4. It was pretty soupy still but it tasted great and after it set for a little, most of the liquid absorbed. I cut the butter down a lot. It's not necessary. And I suggest using low sodium chix broth. I also subbed basil instead of parsley which was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family absolutely loved this. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is so much better than I expected! I love this. I added parsley and green onion as a garnish. Great recipe! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Used chicken broth, 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter, slivered almonds instead of pine nuts, and added rosemary. Omitted green onions. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really good! Added broccoli and used chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have made this repeatedly, and for company, and it's always great. I've never had green onions. I have subbed dried parsley and dried onion. I didn't want to part with my precious pine nuts, so I used chopped almonds on all occasions with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Delicious and easy! This was more a mushroom-barley bake for me, because I used 1.5c mushrooms (I love them). I browned the onions before adding the barley, used olive oil, and didn't add the pine nuts until after baking, because I prefer them crunchy. This was just as good without the nuts (I forgot to add them at first!). I might sub thyme for parsley and add garlic next time. A perfect dish for a chilly fall evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I had a white rice recipe which was very similar, using green onions and pine nuts. This is every bit as tasty and way more nutritious so I'll be using it from now on as a side dish instead of rice. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe. I've never used barley in anything other than soup before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States