Barley Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
As a widower living at the bottom of S.F. Bay, I'm happy to see such enthusiasm for Barley Bake & esp. variations using a rice-cooker - I use my Zojirushi pressure-cooker. I grew up on beef-barley soup (my Scottish dad was Glaswegian), but am a near-vegetarian @ 71, having learned to substitute beets for beef (at Weight-Watchers/Providence in 1972.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Just OK, not bad but not incredible. Pine nuts didn't really seem to add much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I liked. Could have used slightly more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Too bland, and the pine nuts didn't add anything special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Fantastic...tryin to eat healthier ...with a resistant husband , he loved it,too! I used half butter half olive oil...added red peppers and chia seeds....served it with grilled chicken and garlic tomatoe green beans....yummy feel good food!( and sooooo easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is such a versatile recipe. Perfect as is, but the 2nd time, I tossed in a tbsp of garlic and a half of a minced red bell pepper (or one small jar of pimiento's) and it was delish! Also - as a time saver: add the broth directly to skillet after all ingredients are in and bring to a boil for 2 minutes. Then pour that mixture directly into your casserole dish. Bake uncovered for just 45 minutes. Perfect! P.S. - I actually tripled the mushrooms .... but then again, I am a fan of the shroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was wonderful. Worked perfectly in my rice cooker. I added a touch of garlic powder to enhance flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My daughter had previously tried this and thought it was still "soupy" after religiously following the exact measurements and baking times. She suggested slightly decreasing the liquid. As I decided to decrease the liquid to 1 can of broth (I used chicken), I also decreased the barley to three fourth cups instead of one. After an hour in the oven it was done perfectly. The only other change was to use half butter and half olive oil. Super delicious! Thank you Katinhat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Following other reviews, I used chicken broth,some garlic and thyme,carrot,almonds(didn't know I was out of pine nuts)and fresh parsley. It was very bland and I am curious to figure out how to infuse some more flavor.I can't imagine how bland it would be without adding what I did, maybe I didn't add enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great side dish idea - I don't have enough good barley recipes! I added minced garlic during the sautéing step, and finished it with grated Asiago. Also, I waited until after it was cooked to sprinkle on the green onions. Served it alongside roasted salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Knowles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States