Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
With a bit of shredded cheese sprinkled on top, this was a totally toothsome, full meal. I did add a bit of crusty bread. Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I enjoyed this even more than I thought I would! Was afraid it would be too "mushroom-y" but it's just fine. Delicious. Also tastes wonderful with the smallest amount of shredded fresh Parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is very tasty, vegetarian or not! Very healthy and has some taste to it! I added some seasoning and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerre Gadoury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This was delicious - I prepared it as a side dish and made a few modifications. Here are the changes I made: I omitted the beans, used green pepper instead of celery, chicken broth instead of veg broth, and added in some cut-up brussel sprouts. I also added some extra spices - specifically powdered sage and ginger. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This is a really great recipe- the ultimate comfort food when it's cold outside. Next time I will sub some of the broth with white wine. I exchanged celery for water chestnuts b/c I don't care for celery and b/c I wanted the extra crunch factor. Be sure to watch the pot, tho. Mine was done in less than 45 min and almost got stuck to the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was really easy to make and really good. I added a Goya Sazon packet which gave it a very pretty color and a little extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This dish was very easy to put together. I didn't have celery so I substituted carrots, which worked well. I added 1/2 cup more barley, as 3 cups broth is too much for just 1/2 cup barley. Next time I'm going to add sweet potatoes to this wonderful winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This hearty dish is great. I added white wine to the broth, and fresh spinach at the very end of the cooking time. I also added fresh parsley and cracked red pepper for more flavor. I'll make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Yum!! I made this for my family and we just loved it, the next day I put the rest on the stove with some water and it turned into a wonderful soup!! I like it better as a soup and will make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Great recipe! I followed the directions exactly, except added a couple of cubes of vegetable broth...it was fantastic. Just a nice, super-hardy and healthy dish...if you like beans and barley...vegetables...this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States