Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
second time making this recipe, i love it, very woodsy. the first time i made it hoping to toss it into tortillas, but im not sure how that would be possible; it's more like risotto, soup even (if you add more water, which im doing this time). no changes are really needed for the recipe, but i keep out the beans because they arent needed, add more onions because i love onions, that is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Came out great as a soup. (I'm not sure how you would go about eating this in a tortilla.) I added a green pepper, and might try a carrot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is best served on tortillas with cheese and sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is excelent. I added some salt, pepper and a little soy sauce. Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Very good. Goes great with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I made this recipe on Thanksgiving amongst my meat-eating wife and sister-in-law. It was savory and fast. The combination of grain and mushrooms reminded me of a risotto recipe I used to make. Next time, I'll add a green vegetable like asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I added some chopped carrots along with celery & onions. Also, wrapped in a tortilla with cheese (as suggested) & froze the tortillas. Made a very tasty, quick, & healthy dinner later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
My husband found this dish to be rather bland. I think it could be spiced up with some jalapeno or a vegetable -- green pepper, broccoli, or ?? Definitely has potential to be a staple...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Great recipe but next time I would add salt and pepper and use 1 cup of barley instead of the 1/2 cup called for, it was a little soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I give this recipe only a four because while I really loved it the first day I made it, it just wasn't very good as leftovers. Maybe it's just me. It was definitely good the first night. Worth it. Oh, and I put it in a tortilla with cheese as suggested. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States