Barley and Mushrooms with Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I made as a side dish and omitted the beans...I also added 1 c. barley instead of 1/2 c. really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Yummy!!! (and good for you) The only thing I would do differently next time, would be: add half of the garlic, onion and celery closer to the end of cooking time. Their flavors got lost cooking so long (I also used pearled barley). Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Great recipe! I followed the directions exactly, except added a couple of cubes of vegetable broth...it was fantastic. Just a nice, super-hardy and healthy dish...if you like beans and barley...vegetables...this is a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Yum!! I made this for my family and we just loved it, the next day I put the rest on the stove with some water and it turned into a wonderful soup!! I like it better as a soup and will make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Wonderful, woodsy flavor. It was great with a fresh salad and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I wish I would've remembered to read the reviews before I made this! I gave it three stars because it was easy. This was definitely soupy! Need to either add more barley or cut back on the liquid unless you want it like a soup. Flavor was interesting but on the bland side. Another reviewer said she added soy sauce, I think I'll try that. Not sure I'll make this again as written - have to play with it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Quite tasty, though a bit salty. The dish is all one color, though a nice brown, it's somewhat unappealing. I used a variety of fresh mushrooms which I think made it more visually intereting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Used only 2 cups of broth, 3 would've made it soupy. And added a couple of large dashes of worcestershire sauce. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This hearty dish is great. I added white wine to the broth, and fresh spinach at the very end of the cooking time. I also added fresh parsley and cracked red pepper for more flavor. I'll make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Excellent vegetarian dish. Extremely easy to make with a pleasant taste. Mine turned out more like a soup than anything, but it was still scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States