Barengate Bay Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was pretty good and really easy. I think next time I'd use less lemon, since it was pretty strong and a bit overpowering. I only used a half of a can of milk and half of a can of chicken broth, since it seemed like it was going to be really runny otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
All five of us in my family pretty much devoured this dish tonight! The sauce is pretty thin, and I was hoping it would thicken up a bit while it baked in the oven, but it still tasted good. The mushrooms taste wonderful in this dish, and the lemon gives it a nice citrusy flavor. I did not use the full can of chicken broth because I think with all of the milk the sauce would have been even more runny than it already was. I probably used about half of the broth. Overall very good though! Thank you for the recipe, SHOREGIRL69!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Not bad, but wasn't great- followed the receipe for everything except used cream of chicken soup. Didn't have cream of broc- as others mentioned the sauce was a little soupy...in texture and taste. I don't usually cook with canned soups so maybe that's way it still kinda tasted like cream of chicken to me. Not bad tho for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
very good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I thought this was a decent recipe. I didn't enjoy the chicken, however my boyfriend loved it, and I found it nice as a leftover. My problem with the chicken was the quality of chicken breast I had, and the fact that the chicken was too bland. I didn't use breadcrumbs since I didn't have any. I too cut back on the liquids and am sad I forgot by what portion because it came out well. I also reduced the lemon by half and found that to work nicely. I also added a little bit of italian seasoning. I added spinach to the top since I needed to use it, and some shredded cheddar on top of that. The spinach tasted good but turned brown and slimy in the oven. The cheddar and italian seasoning were tasty additions. I will probably make this again, but plan on actually breading the chicken or marinating it in something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Not bad at all. We enjoyed it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. Fresh or dried bread crumbs were not specified (actually they were not even mentioned in the ingredients list!), I used fresh which may have been part of the problem. The sauce was very thin and runny. I used only one (very large) clove of garlic and one lemon and the flavor was still great, for us 4 cloves of garlic would have been way too much. I liked the flavor mostly, it was just kind of flat. I added some salt to the leftovers and that helped a little. I don't know if I will try it again as my daughter hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Was pretty good. Really different, but a nice change from the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Pretty good and fairly quick. I anticipate this one will become a regular in my "Lazy Housewife" dinner rotation. I used cream of chicken soup and mixed in frozen broccoli florets. I did omit the chicken broth. I served with brown rice and didn't have any leftovers, so I'm a happy camper. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is pretty tasty, however if I make it again I will make my own broccoli soup instead of using the canned stuff. It's just not as good the homemade. It's a nice quick recipe though, so that's always a bonus. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chef John's Chicken French

See how to make tender, tasty chicken in a simple wine and butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States