Barb's Guinness®-n-Cabbage Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great quick recipe. Loved it, with substitutions using what I had on hand. Peanut oil instead of pumpkin seed oil (wish I had thought to add actual pumpkin seeds), one large vidalia onion instead of shallots, and 6 cups of napa cabbage. I grated the Ginger instead of mincing and used Corona instead of Guinness(r). This was a big hit! Look forward to trying with red cabbage and Guinness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yum! Used regular green cabbage 'cause it's what I had on hand. Hubby loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
My husband made this as his contribution to our Thanksgiving meal. I am not sure if he cooked the dish properly.It was terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This was a good cabbage dish. We made it with some bratwurst for a nice fall dinner. I think if I make it again, I will leave out the ginger though. It gave it a peculiar aftertaste. Not bad, just not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
A yummy side dish, we had the family over when I made this and was careful not to overdo it on the Guinness! However, the beer and cabbage are an odd combination, but the flavours mesh well. Thanks for sharing, Barb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I'm sorry, but we really didn't like this one. The ginger (which I love to cook with) was too much, and it didn't go well with the stout; the flavors combined to give the dish a fairly bitter taste. The only way we were able to eat it was to mix it with soba noodles and add a dose of soy sauce. We didn't even keep the leftovers. I think this might have been better with a sweeter beer, such as a honey brew or an amber ale. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Not bad at all for cabbage. Had to use olive oil instead of pumpkin seed oil, may have affected the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I tryed this and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States