Barb's Famous Broccoli and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Made this for Easter dinner and it was a big hit! I used fresh broccoli and halfed all ingredients for a smaller batch. This will definitely be a regular on our holiday tables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My family and I love this dish! its always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Garrette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I don't normally cook anything with a cheese sauce but had some Velveeta I bought and had to use up so thought I would give this a try. Wow this was delicious. The sour-cream gave this a different texture and taste. Thanks for sharing this simple and delicious recipe it goes in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tweaked a bit and added a few of my own ingredients, and was a hit at Christmas dinner! Also left over portion was just as good when warmed up 2 and 3 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used double the amount of broccoli and there was still plenty of cheese. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is a really good recipe. Some people think it's too cheesy, but it's great for me. Then again, I do like to drown my broccoli in cheese. The sour cream is a nice touch. It's good with or without the Ritz topping; I (somewhat) prefer it that way, but my BF scrapes it off. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is very good. however, there is way too much cheese. I halved the recipe and used 1/4 less cheese. I'd recommend using half if not a 1/4 of the cheese called for. I didn't use the cracker topping bc I didn't have ritz. I'm sure I'd like it that way, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I totally screwed this up. I was trying to cut the recipe in half and also have it slightly less "cheesy" (though cheesy is good). I put almost 2 produce bundles of fresh, cut up, broccoli in a square pyrex dish (after lightly cooking the broccoli), that was the perfect amount. But for the cheese sauce (slighted melted in a pan prior to mixing with broccoli), I only put maybe 1/4 of a loaf of Velveta, some small amount of random left over shredded cheeses, and a WHOLE FREAKING 8 oz container (the little small one) of sour cream. WAY too much sour cream, not enough cheese flavor. I put French's fried onions (1/2 of the big can mixed with 1/3 stick melted butter) on top, that was good. I wish I would have put a whole can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I liked the flavor and so did my family but the cheese was really runny. I'll make it again but with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was just way too cheesey for me and I like cheese. I probably had twice the broccoli this called for and it was still too much cheese. It was a simple recipe but I'll only use half the cheese the next time and thin it with some milk or half and half next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States