Barb's Famous Broccoli and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was just way too cheesey for me and I like cheese. I probably had twice the broccoli this called for and it was still too much cheese. It was a simple recipe but I'll only use half the cheese the next time and thin it with some milk or half and half next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Made this for Easter dinner and it was a big hit! I used fresh broccoli and halfed all ingredients for a smaller batch. This will definitely be a regular on our holiday tables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I totally screwed this up. I was trying to cut the recipe in half and also have it slightly less "cheesy" (though cheesy is good). I put almost 2 produce bundles of fresh, cut up, broccoli in a square pyrex dish (after lightly cooking the broccoli), that was the perfect amount. But for the cheese sauce (slighted melted in a pan prior to mixing with broccoli), I only put maybe 1/4 of a loaf of Velveta, some small amount of random left over shredded cheeses, and a WHOLE FREAKING 8 oz container (the little small one) of sour cream. WAY too much sour cream, not enough cheese flavor. I put French's fried onions (1/2 of the big can mixed with 1/3 stick melted butter) on top, that was good. I wish I would have put a whole can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This is very good. however, there is way too much cheese. I halved the recipe and used 1/4 less cheese. I'd recommend using half if not a 1/4 of the cheese called for. I didn't use the cracker topping bc I didn't have ritz. I'm sure I'd like it that way, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My family and I love this dish! its always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Garrette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I don't normally cook anything with a cheese sauce but had some Velveeta I bought and had to use up so thought I would give this a try. Wow this was delicious. The sour-cream gave this a different texture and taste. Thanks for sharing this simple and delicious recipe it goes in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tweaked a bit and added a few of my own ingredients, and was a hit at Christmas dinner! Also left over portion was just as good when warmed up 2 and 3 days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used double the amount of broccoli and there was still plenty of cheese. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I liked the flavor and so did my family but the cheese was really runny. I'll make it again but with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Not so good, my family only had one helping and there was more than half the pan left over that never got touched :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States