Barb's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
The cake wasn’t the moist, chocolately cake I was hoping for. I liked the addition of the chocolate chips, but it was still disappointing, lacking sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is exactly what I look for in a chocolate cake -decadent, moist, and delicious. Coffee in replace of water usually adds more depth to any chocolate cake, but this recipe on its own came out wonderful. Paired with chocolate butter cream frosting, this certainly satisfied my chocolate craving for the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coffee&Chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have tried several chocolate cake recipies and like this the best. The cake came out very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephy Adams
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was a good cake. I did take the advise of others and add more oil (1 1/3 cups) and thank goodness I doubled the frosting recipe. The cake was very moist, however, the frosting was a bit too bitter...I used milk choc chips instead of semi sweet and it took some of the bitterness from the frosting...but not quite enough. All in all, I will make again, however I'll try a different frosting next time. Thank Barb, It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephy Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made this cake for my husbands birthday. I added two layers, buttercream frosting and sprinkled the sides with walnuts. It was so easy and so moist and delicious! I will for sure make again... and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kryscrane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
i made these exactly as the recipe says and i found it very good! i was looking for a chocolate cake recipe for a friend's birthday (her name is barb) when i stumbled across this. how perfect! she enjoyed it and so did everybody else. only one piece was left and i'm eating it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
i didnt make the frosting because i'm looking for a cake thats good withoiut frosting. this isnt it. if not for the chocolate chips i wouldnt have tasted any chocolate flavor at all. it was fluffy and soft and pretty but didnt tast like chocolate didnt tast like vanilla didnt tast like nothing! just flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebony
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good texture, easy to make, nothing WRONG with it... but this is not a knock-your-socks off chocolate cake. I used the Chocolate Ganache recipe (AR) which saved the cake. If I make this again I'll definitely double the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is my favorite recipe of all time, I ask my sister to make it for my birthday every year and everyone who has it is floored. It's not too sweet and the coffee adds to the dark chocolate mocha flavor. BEST FROSTING, I eat with spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suuz
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I've made this cake many times, and my clients always love it! I like to chop a very dark chocolate bar and a light chocolate bar, instead of using chocolate chips. Just make sure to use a good quality chocolate. Thanks Barb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suuz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States