Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I always use this recipe. It's a great summer salad. I recently made it for our branding and everyone loved it! This time I added a little bit of horseradish to the dressing and chopped up some green onion and red pepper that were just hanging out in my fridge. I used balsamic vinegar as I didn't have any white on hand. The color is different but the flavor was great! Usually I don't change a thing with this recipe. It's tasty the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Way too much dressing. The vegetables were drowned in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Excellent salad! I omitted the sunflower seed because I did not have them on hand. I took another reviewers suggestion and sprinkled in curry powder for some amazing flavor kick! I also put in a dash of garlic salt and black pepper to counter the sweet dressing. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used 3 C each of broccoli and cauliflower, only 1/2 C seeds and then used 1/2 Mayo w/Olive Oil and 2 packs of Splenda mixed with 1 T balsamic vinegar. For the bacon I used 4 T real bacon bits. It was an awesome recipe....Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I have been making a version of this salad for several years. Always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyLab
Home Town: Judith Gap, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I could not stop eating this dish, I loved it so much! This is a great base recipe because you can tailor it to your tastes and it will come out wonderful every time! I didn't have all the exact ingredients, so I made some substitutions and I also added some ingredients. I made a cole-slaw dressing instead (light mayo, milk, sugar, red wine vinegar); I only had dried, chopped onions and onion powder; the bacon I had was "maple" flavored which added a great richness and sweetness to the flavor; I added honey-roasted almond slices and plumped raisins (just soak them in super hot tap water for 3-5 mins); also, I only had the frozen broccoli and cauliflower, so I steamed them first to get them soft, then chilled the whole dish. Lastly, we were curious about how the dish would taste warm so we heated up the last couple bites and it was even better! I'm making it hot next time, I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
My wife always makess this salad when there will be ladies attending. They says it fills you up not out. She omits the sugar & vinegar. Makes her dressing of Miricle Whip Light & milk. Or uses a ranch style dressing. She will make it the night before sometimes. Great as a leftover. She serves at Christmas adding red pepper to round out the holiday colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
From the first time I made this, I have constantly had requests for the recipe or to make it again at other functions. I didn't change a thing about the recipe except add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Excellent salad! Followed recipe exactly and did not change any ingredients. It is a keeper for us! Would make a beautiful salad for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Husband kept saying how much he loved this recipe. The 5 stars is based on how the recipe is written, but I now make it with about 1/8 cup of honey instead of sugar and a creamy cucumber vinaigrette dressing to cut the sugar and some of the fat. Nobody notices the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States