Barbequed Thai Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Delicious Thai Taste. My family thought it tasted just like they ordered it from their favorite Thai Restaurant. I served the chicken with Peanutty Noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
I was in a hurry to cook dinner and picked this recipe based on everyone else's great reviews. We all loved the chicken, although my husband and I enjoyed it more than the kids. Will definetly make again. Have been wondering why the recipe calls out for *breast halves, chopped*. Why chopped? Also, the directions call it *coriander paste* - where is the coriander in the ingredients??6/7/04-I made this recipe again last night and pleased to see recipe was corrected based on my input. This time I used boneless chicken breasts and they were fantasic. Also, instead of fish sauce - I use soy sauce. Thank you again for a *10* recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Excellent chicken! I thought the cilantro would be overpowering, but it wasn't. The taste was delicious and even my picky pre-teen children loved it. I used boneless chicken breasts, grilled about 7 minutes per side and they turned out moist and tender. I'd serve this to even the pickiest eaters because the taste is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Excellent recipe but DEFINITELY wear gloves while handling the peppers and the completed marinade. I didn't and ended up soaking my hands in cold/ice water for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I mixed the marinade in a ziplock bag and then added fresh chicken then put in deep freezer to take camping. It took a day or so to thaw in the cooler and was great on the grill however I did use a disposable tin tray to cook on, the marinade has a bright yellow color and would be a mess to clean off the grill or anything like clothing. I served it with a sesame ginger pasta salad and it was a nice change from meat and potato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Wow! We've made this a couple times and LOVE it! Next time I'm going to put it on skewers to make grilling easier. (The smaller pieces are tastier, but they're hard to grill.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Wasn't sure what part of the cilantro to use, so I just used mostly leaves, and probably not quite enough. I was a little concerned about an overwhelming cilantro flavor, but that was NOT a problem. We couldn't find "red hot chile peppers", so I used one "hot cherry pepper" (small, red, shaped like a habanero). They aren't too hot, but have a great flavor. Used 3 b/s chicken breasts, and grilled over high heat for a total of about 20 minutes; we kind of burned it, but wow, it was still really, really good! Just a tiny amount of heat. My husband suggested roasting the peppers next time, which would really increase the intensity of the peppers. Also, we used powdered coconut milk, which is REALLY convenient, and tasted just a good as freshly made or canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Mixed reviews in our house- I thought this was much to sweet and didn't have the balance of sweet and spicy I so enjoy with Thai food. I recommend making it hotter or adding garlic or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I made this for a family barbecue and was worried that I was going to have too much left over since there was so much food including other meat dishes. It was the only dish that was cleaned right out. I used chicken thighs (skin on) and ignored all the fuss about cilantro roots etc. and just used two bunches of cilantro with the heavier stems and roots cut off and discarded. I used an entire can of good quality coconut milk for basting only because I didn't want to waste any and it created a wonderful coating. There are lots of flare-ups on the BBQ but all the flipping is worth the reward at the end. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This got top ratings at my house. I did add a couple of small garlic cloves to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States