Barbequed Steelhead Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is a great recipe. I'm not a big Salmon fan, but my wife is so I cook it every once in a while. Decided to try Steelhead Trout. I love this fish and this recipe. We used Colorado spice seasoning and plain Kraft BBQ sauce. Great, even the skin was good. Make sure you have a hot fire and cook skin side down first longer than on the flesh side. Simple, easy and little clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe, just as it is. I was concerned the bbq sauce would be overpowering, but was glad to be proven wrong. I'm sure it will become one of our favorite ways to fix salmon or steelhead. Quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Easy, different and delicious! Fixing it this week when friends come over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montverde, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Like many of the reviewers I accidently bought the steelhead thinking it was salmon at my local Costco. But I do not regret it. This was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe. I will be makeing again. There wasn't enough to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was so good! I made it with the "Zippy Barbecue Sauce" recipe on this site, and was blown away, both by how good it was and by the foot-high flames that erupted when the butter mixture dripped into the coals. Ha! I'd recommend this to anyone finding themselves with an unexpected steelhead trout on their hands, as curiously seems to often be the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
made the mistake of buying trout instead of salmom. A good mistake :) Loved this recipe and I will be buying trout more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used the butter mixture (substituting olive oil because I had more) to marinate the fish for an hour or so and that worked as well. The bbq was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe and definitely not one that I would have ever come up with on my own! I have cooked this several times....both on the grill and in the oven on a broiler pan. I have used several different types of bbq sauce, depending on the mood I'm in and it's always yummy. I wouldn't change a thing with the recipe. :) My kids absolutely love it and ask for it often. A big hit at my house! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I can honeslty say steelhead trout has an amazing flavor which I much prefer over salmon. The barbequed method is tasty but another great way to cook it is to lightly coat it with olive oil and then sprinkle with fresh oregano and a small amount of garlic powder! Wonderful seasoned like this on the grill!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
OK, I also bought the Steelhead from Costco (by the way, no skin). I wanted to try it. I didn't know what kind of BBQ sauce to use ( i had Sweet Baby Rays Sweet and Spicy and The Raspberry Chipotle, but didn't want to use them because they seemed too spicy) so I took he advice of another reviewer and made a four serving of Popular BBQ sauce. It was fantastic. I baked it on foil that i built up the edges on so it wouldn't run off. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 17 minutes and then put the BBQ sauce on and baked for about two minutes more and then under the broiler for an additional 1 or 2 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States