Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I loved it! I didn't change anything about it, it was good the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I liked this quite a lot. I wouldn't boil the tempeh or do anything other than the recipe called for, unless you have a strong aversion to tempeh. I didn't find any funny aftertaste and I served them to a meat lover, albeit adventurous eater, and he liked it a lot as well. Smells delicious while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This recipe was just okay for my family. I followed all the tips I found in the reviews. It was the first time we had tried tempeh, and we used the 3-grain type. Didn't care for the texture. Might try again with a different type of tempeh that doesn't have big seeds in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Fast, easy, relatively healthy, and pretty delicious! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this (and neither of us are vegetarian). They are kind of like vegetarian Sloppy Joes. We will be eating this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was awesome! I boiled the tempeh in vegetable broth for about 10 minutes and let it marinate in the bbq sauce overnight. I used Annie's organic bbq sauce, smoky maple flavor. I used about 2/3 of each pepper and about 1/2 of the onion. I'd never had tempeh before but I couldn't stop eating this and had it for lunch at work several times. As others have said, the sauce will probably make or break this recipe. So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjlaramie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Think I was expecting something more along the lines of a sloppy joe, so was a tad disappointed. If I finely chop everything up next time, then we'll get there. This recipe makes alot. I ate it as sandwhiches and dip over a week. Stubb's BBQ sauce is good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
hey, tastes like bbq sauce, but crunchier! made it just like the recipe and it was good. Not sure about the comment of tempeh being bitter. I never had it before, so just tried it straight. Strangely enough, it just tasted like soy beans! brand was Westsoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudsaki
Home Town: Pollock Pines, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
It was pretty good (my first tempeh ever). I made my own BBQ sauce using tomato sauce, agave and spices. Instead of putting it on a bun, I used it as a topping for a baked sweet potato. Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Amazing! I've been vegan for over 7 years and haven't had BBQ since, and this was like a major (cruelty-free, i might add) blast from the past! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Sorry, but this was pretty mediocre by our taste. Perhaps the kind of barbecue sauce that we use for meat dishes wasn't the right flavor to mix with the tempeh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States