Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I may make this again. For a tempeh recipe it's very easy and simple, which is nice. I'd use a little less bbq sauce. My kids didn't like it, but I figured they wouldn't with the peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
No reason not to like this one. A good introduction to tempeh and one the whole family can enjoy especially those who may not be on board with being vegan/vegetarian. I steamed for 20 minutes the organic tempeh, added 4 chopped baby bella mushrooms I had on hand and used Sweet Baby Rays Original barbeque sauce. I used Earth Balance spread on kaiser roll and toasted on top of stove. Will definitely make this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I really liked this even without boiling the tempeh first. I added garlic like others have said. I'm not much of a cook so love how easy it was. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Last night was the first time I had tempeh and it was amazing in this recipe. My husband is a vegan and I am not but I am willing to try different things. I'm not sure it could have tasted better! Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great, very easy and quick recipe! First try with tempeh, and it was delicious. I only used half an onion and one green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I'm an omnivore, and like vegetarian-style dishes well enough, but I'd never had tempeh until I ran across this recipe. I made it exactly as written, and thought it was OK - not weird or icky, but not particularly yummy either. I did note that I thought the "4 Kaiser rolls" wasn't enough. I'd actually bought 6 of them, and still had some of this recipe left over. I guess I just don't like overfilling my sandwiches and making a mess. This is probably a nice sloppy-joes-like recipe for vegetarians, but I probably won't make this again, though I'm open to another recipe using tempeh sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It calls for too much BBQ sauce. Drowns out all other flavor. Next time I'll use 1/2 cup. I'll make it again due to simplicity but will probably doctor it up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This completely satisfied the craving I've had for sloppy joes since we went vegetarian. I recently discovered tempeh and my husband had the idea to try it in a barbecue/sloppy joe fashion so I went to good ole Allrecipes and found this. I made my own bbq sauce due to a lack of any pre made in my cabinets (ketchup, sugar, worchestershire sauce, etc) and we loved it. I, too, put it with some mayo-based cole slaw and it was fantastic. So fantastic, in fact, that I was sad my husband got the leftovers for lunch the next day before I did. Oh well - better luck next time (and there will totally be a next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I loved it! I didn't change anything about it, it was good the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I liked this quite a lot. I wouldn't boil the tempeh or do anything other than the recipe called for, unless you have a strong aversion to tempeh. I didn't find any funny aftertaste and I served them to a meat lover, albeit adventurous eater, and he liked it a lot as well. Smells delicious while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States