Barbeque Style Braised Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used this recipe to help me recreate a dish I had at a restaurant the other night. I only used about a 1/2 cup of each onion and carrot diced along with two cloves of garlic for flavoring. I added to the sauce about 1/4 cup of molasses and about 4 tablespoons of honey to sweeten the sauce up more. Since I had a couple portabella mushroom caps to use up, I added those sliced when I had one hour remaining to cook. I served this on a bed of cream cheese polenta, with diced parsnip and a gremolata garnish. Mission accomplished: Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These are wonderful! I made with the recipe and added a tablespoon of brown sugar to help temper the initial tomato taste. I also deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of wine after the vegetables were sautéed. The sauce cooked out nice and thick and very rich flavor. It was easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lyndon, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These ribs are simply AMAZING ! This is an easy recipe to make, My 13 yr old daughter made this for a family gathering and loved the well deserved compliments. I put liquid smoke in a small plastic spray bottle and mist the ribs a bit while browning them...that is an easy way to give meat an outside flavor when cooking indoors. This is great with homemade mashed potatoes. And be warned...your guests will eat 2X what they normally do so make a lot. Thanks Valerie for a MAJOR winner...this should have a 10 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Louie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sagamore Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Great recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Very tasty!! Sauce was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
The house smelled wonderful as this baked in the oven, did not change a thing and the sauce did thicken enough to use on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Beef short ribs are hard to find and expensive! I only could afford 2 lbs, and it fed 4 people with mashed potatoes, a soup and a salad. Everyone enjoyed the braised ribs. I gave it a 4 out of 5 because I feel like it lacked some flavor. Cooked it for 5 hours at 275, because real braising takes a long long time. :) BF loved it, will make it for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
love love love! it was so easy to make... i followed recipe exactly except i used the slow cooker instead of oven. once i browned everything i was able to go about my day until dinner time. everyone loved it even my picky husband who doesnt like short ribs. the sauce came out so perfect and was delicious with mashed potatoes. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My husband loved these short ribs. He is such a pain to cook for, hates anything new! But he just ate these up and asks for me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annajustmay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States