Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
DO NOT EVER REUSE A POULTRY MARINADE!!! It is extremely dangerous to reuse the marinade while cooking the chicken, it could contain salmonella and other bacteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This chicken had incredible flavor, it was very intense. If you don't care for the taste of lemon then I would not advise it. I used with boneless skinless chicken breats. I added the marinade before freezing and then thawed over night in the fridge. I did not over cook the chicken as my instant read thermometer only read 180, but it was very dry. I noticed when I placed it on the grill that the marinade had already started to cook the outside of the chicken. I think the acid content with the lemon juice and vinegar may have been too high for the boneless chicken breast. If I use again I would really like to marinade a whole chicken in this before baking. I think that the larger bird may be better equiped to deal with the acid content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I tried this recipe on 8/22/2002 - It was great! The marinade added the right amount of zip. I also used this recipe in the oven instead of on the outdoor grill. The chicken was moist, tender, zippy and juicy. Wonderful recipe! This one is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKVETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
This a wonderful recipe! The vinegar adds a great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This was so much better than the traditional Italian dressing marinade. Even my fiance liked it, and I have to say he is the pickiest eater I have ever met. He didn't have a scrap left on his plate. We used it with boneless chicken breasts, and they were moist to the point they fell apart. Brushing the marinade on while grilling helps keep chicken moist. A good hint for this recipe for those who think its too much lemon, use apple cider vinegar. To add a little extra flavor you can also brush some marinade on before you eat it. I will definately do this again, and recommend this to everyone I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Very flavorful and tender. I did cut the lemon juice back to half a cup based on previous reviews. I'll cut the vinegar back a bit next time I make this because the chicken was maybe just a little too tangy. Good recipe and it'll be even better with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Wonderful! I have the feeling using fresh lemon juice is key...I bought lemons strictly for this recipe, although I had bottled lemon juice. It was perfect, and the marinade smelled great! Served it with a Greek salad and an eggless potato salad. Heated the marinade next to the chicken, for safety. Made a great basting sauce... Thanks, Ann, for a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This tasted GREAT!! Everyone loved it! Did something different, and made two different styles of barbequed chicken, they both got 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Too much lemon and vinegar taste for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This recipe reminded me of something pickled. My family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States