Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was a wonderful marinade that imparted good flavor. I used cider vinegar, marinated the chicken for three hours, and prebaked it for 30 minutes before putting in on the grill. Because I had baked it, the marinade was cooked and used for basting, making it very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I hate to review a recipe if I don't follow it exactly but, t used chicken thighs and I baked them instead of grilling. So even with those changes, this was still very good. Unfortunately, I slightly over baked my chicken so it was a bit dry. However, the flavor was very good. It was not lemony or vinegary at all. I think this is a great recipe, only next time, we will grill it, as the recipe states to do. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This is tasty. It does have a predominant lemon flavor, but it is good. I think it would be even better with fish. Have to try that next time. I would definitely make this again. I only used half of the marinade for about 2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Oh man, I DON'T understand why this recipe is 4 stars! It deserves 5 stars! Anyone who complains it is too lemony, or too vinegary is NOT being fair. What do people expect if that is the two main ingredients to this marinade? Yes, I would classify this as more of a lemon italian chicken. The vinegar complements the lemon. I only let this sit for less then two hours and I would suggest the same. It already had a very tangy lemon taste, and I can see how it might be overpowering if it was left too long to sit. Pair this with a light pasta dish, a salad, and you wont be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My family loved it....I put it on skewers and serverd it with rice. my boyfriend was so surprised how good it was the kid's and boyfriend all said you have to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maridela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I used 1/2 Realemon and 1/2 Realime as I didn't have sufficient lemon juice on hand. I increased the garlic powder to 1 T. and used 6 large skinless, boneless chicken breasts which I sliced in 1/2. The chicken breasts cooked on the grill only 5 mins. per side and were juicy and tasty. I made zucchini and tomatoes as a topping for the leftovers. Delicious! This is an easy, go-to recipe which adapts well to different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I halved the lemon juice, used fresh garlic (about 3 cloves), and used boneless skinless chicken breasts. I marinated this for about an hour before throwing on the grill. This was pretty darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
WOW! Best BBQ chicken I've ever made. The only thing I did differently was instead of making the marinade I had a bottle of store bought Lawry's Caribbean Jerk Chicken marinade. After soaking in the brine I poured it out and combined chicken into one bag as directed and 1 bottle of the marinade was plenty. I used Sweet Baby Ray's Sweet Vidalia BBQ sauce. GREAT flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Nance Mealer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Fantastic! We made this up ahead of time, put it and the chicken in a large zip-lock bag and went camping. It was way too windy to have a fire or to even cook outdoors with a grill so we decided we'd have to cook dinner on the stove. We put everything, marinade and all, into a big pot and put the burner on the lowest possible setting and cooked it that way -- it was less of a marinade and more of a "brine" and now EVERYONE asks for chicken that way. If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
It was easy to make, however I did not care for the strong vinegar taste. I will not likely ever remake this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States