Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very tasty! I threw it all in the slow cooker on low for 6 hours (as opposed to the oven), and it turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri-ann Flater

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is truly one of the BEST baked BBQ chicken recipes ever!!! I don't know how I lived without it. Here's how I altered it, based on our tastes and the other reviews: (1) used 6 thighs, not 12, (2) doubled the sauce, (3) halved the water (will omit completely next time), (4) omitted the salt, (5) added cayenne. WONDERFUL!!!!!!!! One further note.... The second time I made this, the baby started crying just as I was about to start cooking the sauce, so I threw the uncooked sauce and chicken in the oven and went on my way. We didn't notice any difference! So from now on I won't be wasting time cooking the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Thanks for sharing, this was excellent. For those who complained the sauce was too runny there is an easy fix. I poured the sauce over chicken breasts and baked at 375, covered, for approximately 45 min. I removed the cooked chicken to a platter, then poured the remaining sauce into a saucepan, over med-high heat, I added about 1/2 tsp. of cornstarch and stirred constantly. Within minutes it was thickened & bubbly. I then basted it over the cooked chicken and then put the chicken on the outdoor grill just to crisp it up and give it that authentic "barbeque" feel. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This has GOT to be my favorite chicken recipe of all time, and my family of 5 agrees! I used 12 boneless, skinless chicken thighs and followed the recipe to the letter. The chicken was oh-so-tender and tasted great. Unfortunately, there were NO leftovers! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great recipe for BBQ chicken! However, I turned this into a marinade for grilling vs. baking this in the oven. I left out the water and used Heinz chili sauce vs. ketchup for a little extra kick. I also added a tsp. of liquid smoke anad some minced garlic. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate overnight. The smell was downright heavenly on the grill and the taste was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
This was so good! I made this last night with boneless skinless chicken breasts, and it was so delicious, and also very easy. I had never tried making my own BBQ sauce before, but this is so simple I will use this recipe from now on. Also, the chicken was so tender it fell apart. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Excellent, delicious, easy-to-make recipe. I made five changes in my preparation: soaked the meat in a salt, sugar, and spice brine for an hour, covered the pan bottom with onion slices, used honey, threw in a dash each of cinnamon and cayenne, and I added a couple of minutes broiling time to the cooking time. While it is a "runny" sauce, it was very tasty; however, one could simmer the sauce longer and thicken it with corn starch. Some of the best chicken sauces I've had have been thin -- it's a common style where I live, Western Kentucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Great Recipe for BBQ chicken! I used boneless/skinless thighs and just baked a little less time at 300 deg. Yes, sauce is thin, but very good combo of flavors (only thing I added was some garlic - Everything's better w/the big "G") Overall: Easy, used common ingredients and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We prepare this recipe using a measurement yield for 24. We like this thinner style sauce that much. We use 12 thighs instead of 24 or 6 skinless breasts or combination of each. Again, using the ingredient measurement yield for 24, reduced the water to a 1/4 cup. Add 1/2 Tsp of red pepper, 1/2 Tsp onion powder, 1/2 Tsp garlic powder. Super tender recipe. Excellent dinner to freeze leftovers. Tangy vinegar taste. If you like sweet, add more brown sugar and reduce the vinegar. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This is the best Barbeque Chicken Recipe i have ever tasted. The whole Family Loves it Thank you for such a new and interesting way to fix chicken. Served with baked potato, and broccoli and cheddar pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painted Post, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States