Barbecued Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
First time cooking beef short ribs. Made it pretty much as written but thought that the sauce was lacking. Ended up adding a good amount of our fave bbq sauce to the mix - a big improvement. Really liked the end result but wished that they were a bit more sticky and/or crispier. Will have tioo experiment a bit next time. Thanks, Margery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Flavorful and tender! My husband asked me to add maple syrup and brown sugar to it for a sweeter sauce, so I did. It was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These were delicious!!! I followed the recipe exact. I might be braver next time I make these and add molasis. But very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellefson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Did not like, at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was a hit. I added some spices to the braising liquid, cumin, garlic...I imagine any thing you like will do. I had to braise longer, because some of my ribs were sort of tough. Like others I used onions from the liquid, Plus thinly sliced onions under the ribs in the baking dish. Used our favorite store bought BBQ sauce , covered and baked. Ours took longer to bake but I cooked them lower and slower than recipe. Because store sauce was so thick I added a cup of the braising liquid. This is a great jumping off recipe and easy easy easy to make for large groups or big families. Thanks Margery!!!! I would have never thought of this myself. Will be making this for my sons and grandsons very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe. I added worschester sauce to add to the flavor. You need to add less salt if you add worchester sauce. All in all, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made these the other night and they were a huge hit! Although I used a bottled BBQ sauce, basic recipe is what I was looking for because I did not know how to cook short ribs. They were fall of the bone tender and the kids loved them! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I doubled the sauce recipe and still was barely enough. These ribs were very tender but we really didn't like the sauce. I image it is taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Okay, I did same thing as another person and took the lazy way out and used my families favorite bbq sauce, but this was AMAZING! So Tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yum-Tweaked it! It was tender, fell off the bone. I added 2Tbsp worcestershire, 1 Tbsp and a half of honey and sprinkled Mrs. Dash to season the meat (pre-sauce) Half way thru cooking I added close to a Bottle of krafts BBQ Sauce will cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States