Barbecued Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I learned this recipe from my grandmother when I was little. The only thing I would change is to add 1 tsp. Dijon Mustard for flavor and also instead of pancake syrup, I use Dark corn syrup. I make this every year for Christmas and Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was very good and will remain on my rotation. I used frozen baby lima beans (zapped in the microwave in water - didn't measure but just enough to cover the beans for about 8 mins). I only made serving for 4. I sauted my chopped bacon and onions together. Then when the bacon/onion mixture was nicely caramelized and bacon not quite crisp, I added the beans and most of the water to my pan, thereby deglazing the pan. I simmered that as I added the other ingredients. I only used 2 tbsp of brown sugar, used pure maple syrup and added as squirt of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My mom, dad, and brother loved this recipe. I must be honest though, it was a little wierd to me because the lima beans were HUGE. I am used to baked beans being really little. I am going to try this recipe again with pink beans. The recipe was pretty sweet. I did add some dihon mustard like some people suggested. I like that the recipe was pretty simple to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I just finished making this recipe. It is Very Good! I doubled the recipe, and used one package of Yves Meatless Canadian Bacon (6 oz.). I diced and cooked the bacon in a small amount of butter before adding to the beans. The only thing I did different (besides using veggie bacon) is I added the raw onions at the end, along with the ketchup, sugar, maple syrup, etc. I did not like the thought of boiling the onions with the bean water, and then throwing out most of the onion flavor with this waste water - I love my onions and didn’t want to loose the nice onion taste! My wife, who does not care for lima beans, did not like the smell of the plain beans when they were cooking, but, when everything was mixed at the end and baking in the oven, it smelled great. My wife and I, and our two boys loved the recipe. Thanks for sharing! By the way, the doubled recipe fit nicely in our large bean pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow! These are the BEST version of lima beans I've found! Out of necessity I made some alterations. I used 1/2 tsp chili powder rather than hot sauce, added 1/2 tsp ground mustard, and used light corn syrup rather than pancake syrup. I also made a vegetarian version, so no bacon. Dilish!!!! Omg, sooo good. The aftertaste is incredible. p.s. I also followed a previous reviewers advice and only used 1/2 a c of ketchup and 1/4 c light corn syrup. For me, there was more than enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is SO yummy! I actually used frozen beans and just added the onions with the other ingredients. I can't believe the flavor in these beans! I also added a little bit of chopped garlic. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
That's over a cup of sugar!! when you add whatever on earth "pancake" syrup is. There are at least 5 kinds of Pancake syrup. Dah....so I am presuming she means "maple" or fake maple. For 16 oz of beans??? Just put sugar bowl on table. sooo cut sugar a bit add some mustard powder. double the bacon or better yet use salt pork Very unhappy with recipe...ended up draining most of sugar off and starting over. Still bland and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Made these yesterday. YUM! I substitued dark molasses for the pancake syrup, as I have a tendency to prefer things less on the sweet side, and 1 tsp dry mustard for the hot sauce, had only 1/4 C ketchup on hand so added a 4 oz can of tomato sauce, PERFECT! And to my great surprise the husbamd loved them too! We'll make these often! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Wonderful! I added 1/2 cup katchup and 1/4 cup maple syrup because I like my beans juicier, and I added 1 teaspoon garlic powder, and 1 teasppon ground white pepper for a little extra flavor. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These were okay...but my crew is used to Mexican beans ...refried ...charro etc. So the sweet taste didnt go down to well. On a seperate note. I thought they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acapulco Tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States