Barbecued Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Wonderful! I added 1/2 cup katchup and 1/4 cup maple syrup because I like my beans juicier, and I added 1 teaspoon garlic powder, and 1 teasppon ground white pepper for a little extra flavor. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I learned this recipe from my grandmother when I was little. The only thing I would change is to add 1 tsp. Dijon Mustard for flavor and also instead of pancake syrup, I use Dark corn syrup. I make this every year for Christmas and Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is SO yummy! I actually used frozen beans and just added the onions with the other ingredients. I can't believe the flavor in these beans! I also added a little bit of chopped garlic. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These are so good! Better than the beans in a can if you ask me. Will make often. Made these again last night, but used 1/2 of the brown sugar and then doubled the maple syrup, using sugar free. Still tasted good without all of the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I just finished making this recipe. It is Very Good! I doubled the recipe, and used one package of Yves Meatless Canadian Bacon (6 oz.). I diced and cooked the bacon in a small amount of butter before adding to the beans. The only thing I did different (besides using veggie bacon) is I added the raw onions at the end, along with the ketchup, sugar, maple syrup, etc. I did not like the thought of boiling the onions with the bean water, and then throwing out most of the onion flavor with this waste water - I love my onions and didn’t want to loose the nice onion taste! My wife, who does not care for lima beans, did not like the smell of the plain beans when they were cooking, but, when everything was mixed at the end and baking in the oven, it smelled great. My wife and I, and our two boys loved the recipe. Thanks for sharing! By the way, the doubled recipe fit nicely in our large bean pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My mom, dad, and brother loved this recipe. I must be honest though, it was a little wierd to me because the lima beans were HUGE. I am used to baked beans being really little. I am going to try this recipe again with pink beans. The recipe was pretty sweet. I did add some dihon mustard like some people suggested. I like that the recipe was pretty simple to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I will make this on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I used frozen beans like someone else did which was a time savor. This was WONDERFUL!!! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was very good and will remain on my rotation. I used frozen baby lima beans (zapped in the microwave in water - didn't measure but just enough to cover the beans for about 8 mins). I only made serving for 4. I sauted my chopped bacon and onions together. Then when the bacon/onion mixture was nicely caramelized and bacon not quite crisp, I added the beans and most of the water to my pan, thereby deglazing the pan. I simmered that as I added the other ingredients. I only used 2 tbsp of brown sugar, used pure maple syrup and added as squirt of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is the trickiest way to get kids to eat healthy! Filling, appealing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni Cido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States