Barbecued Lima Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My oldest daughter & I love lima beans so we chose this for our sidedish with last night's dinner. Overall taste was really good, but I just wish there was a little more sauce--I thought the beans were a teeny bit dry as the recipe turned out--but my daughter loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very good! Better than your ordinary baked beans. Have always had baked beans made from small white navy beans but really enjoyed it with the baby lima beans. (I don't think the large lima beans would be as good though- so I suggest choosing the baby lima bean variety). The sauce was very good too. I followed ingredient amounts as listed and thought it needed all the sauce. I would not recommend cutting back on the ketchup and sugar as others have suggested. The beans would end up too dry in my opinion. I did add about 2 tsp Dijon mustard to give it a little extra zing, but I've always thought mustard was the secret ingredient to fabulous baked beans anyway. I didn't have a bean pot and used my heavy Dutch Oven instead. Worked great and has a lid already instead of dealing with tin foil and a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
That's over a cup of sugar!! when you add whatever on earth "pancake" syrup is. There are at least 5 kinds of Pancake syrup. Dah....so I am presuming she means "maple" or fake maple. For 16 oz of beans??? Just put sugar bowl on table. sooo cut sugar a bit add some mustard powder. double the bacon or better yet use salt pork Very unhappy with recipe...ended up draining most of sugar off and starting over. Still bland and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow! These are the BEST version of lima beans I've found! Out of necessity I made some alterations. I used 1/2 tsp chili powder rather than hot sauce, added 1/2 tsp ground mustard, and used light corn syrup rather than pancake syrup. I also made a vegetarian version, so no bacon. Dilish!!!! Omg, sooo good. The aftertaste is incredible. p.s. I also followed a previous reviewers advice and only used 1/2 a c of ketchup and 1/4 c light corn syrup. For me, there was more than enough sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Loved this recipe, only I made it "vegetarian" without the bacon. It was still marvelous. Will make it again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Made these yesterday. YUM! I substitued dark molasses for the pancake syrup, as I have a tendency to prefer things less on the sweet side, and 1 tsp dry mustard for the hot sauce, had only 1/4 C ketchup on hand so added a 4 oz can of tomato sauce, PERFECT! And to my great surprise the husbamd loved them too! We'll make these often! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
These were okay...but my crew is used to Mexican beans ...refried ...charro etc. So the sweet taste didnt go down to well. On a seperate note. I thought they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acapulco Tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
My husband loves sausage and butter beans both, and this is a really tasty combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is the trickiest way to get kids to eat healthy! Filling, appealing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni Cido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was very good and will remain on my rotation. I used frozen baby lima beans (zapped in the microwave in water - didn't measure but just enough to cover the beans for about 8 mins). I only made serving for 4. I sauted my chopped bacon and onions together. Then when the bacon/onion mixture was nicely caramelized and bacon not quite crisp, I added the beans and most of the water to my pan, thereby deglazing the pan. I simmered that as I added the other ingredients. I only used 2 tbsp of brown sugar, used pure maple syrup and added as squirt of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States