Barbecued Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
My boyfriend LOVES this recipe. If the sauce is too greasy, I put the sauce in a container in the freezer while I'm shredding the beef. The grease hardens on top, and you can skim it off. Then you can return it to the slow cooker with the shredded beef. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
A few tips for this great recipe. I've been making it for a few years. I actually sear my roast along with green peppers and onions. I always prepare this a day ahead to let it refrigerate so I can remove the grease. Another tip and this is for all crockpot recipes, unless you want thin gravy or sauce you need to allow additional time and cook for the last few hours on high without the lid. I usually using the cooking time for low on all recipes with sauce. I start out on high and as soon as the sauce is really hot I take the lid off the crock. My family does not like a thin sauce. This recipe freezes very well so I always triple the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Excellent. I made this just as indicated, except to avoid the fattiness people mentioned, I trimmed the excess fat off before cooking and then cooked it for a couple of hours without the sauce, drained the grease off, then added the sauce and finished cooking it for another 6 or 7 hours. Definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Wow! This was soooo easy to make and absolutely delicious! I used a pork roast instead of a beef roast and it turned out fabulous! I shredded the meat and served it on toasted sesame seed buns with a dollop of coleslaw on top ~ YUMMY! The only thing I'd do different next time is cut the vinegar down to about 1/8 cup, as it had a stronger vinegar taste than I prefer, but other than that I wouldn't change a thing! My husband and I both loved this and I'll definitely be making it again real soon! Thanks for a truly delicious barbecue recipe, Corwynn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Fantastic! Don't like the way my crockpot cooks things so I put it in the oven... 350 for an hour, reduced heat to 225 and left it for 3 hours. Shredded it, and put it back in for another hour. Came out PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I have made this dish using a beef chuck roast twice and a pork loin roast 3 times. I personally like the pork better, but my family likes them both. I serve on buns or over rice w/ a salad. I usually reduce the vinegar just a bit for family preference. Also, I trim the meat thorougly before cooking to eliminate fat in the BBQ sauce. I tried the suggestion of making a second batch of BBQ sauce once, but found that I had trimmed the meat enough to eliminate most fat. Plus, I liked the flavor of the BBQ sauce that had been cooking all day with the meat. This dish is great for parties, family events, etc. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
My family loved this dish! Even my daughter who never tries anything liked it. Some other reviewers mentioned that the sauce had too much fat in it after cooking so long so I just cut my roast into chunks and cut off all the fat before I put it in the crock pot. There was hardly any fat in the sauce when it was done, and it cut down on the cooking time. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I believe the ketchup mixture helped to keep the beef moist, however, I would not use this as a sauce to serve over the shredded meat, it ended up tasting like ketchup, and nothing else. So, I discarded the ketchup mixture and then added a bottle of McClard's barbeque sauce and can of green chilies and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This recipe was great. I used some BBQ sauce, some ketchup and no liquid smoke and it was fine. If there's one piece of previous advice I would definitely say to take is to cut the meat into chunks and get rid of all the fat you can. I did this and my sauce wasn't greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
YUM!!! I doubled the sauce and added it all to the pot. This was very good. You definitely need to shred the beef though. I didn't feel like taking the time to do that but then found myself doing it anyway on my plate. The sauce is excellent! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States