Barbecued Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made as-is minus the liquid smoke. My husband swears this is the best meal I've ever made. Served on homemade hamburger buns from this site. I guess it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I always make the recipes on here they way they are first so I can rate the actual recipe and not everyone's modifications. The flavor on this was good but it was really liquidy, we ended up having open faced sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I didn't have the smoke flavoring but it turned out very good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tablin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Great recipe as is. I have also smoked the meat on my webber for about 2 hours @ 250 then put it in the slow cooker and omitted the liquid smoke. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
OMG! Is all i can say. My husband had purchased a 1/4 of a cow and have noticed the meat do not have a lot of fat during cooking process. I did not have a lot of fat to skim off the top as some of the reviewers did. I did take advice and seared the roast with peppers and onions. I also let my sauce cook in the dutch oven about 10 minutes before pouring in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Got great reviews on this recipe , made it for 30 people, no leftovers. I will say that I went to my butcher for a trimmed chuck roast. ( I needed 8 lbs )I seared ALL sides with a generous amount of salt pepper and garlic powder . After many hours on the slow cooker ( 12 for this size ) I placed most of the sauce in a container in the freezer to skim off the fat , if you get the chuck roast that is alot of fat. So this is a must in the taste. There was not one person who did not compliment me this holiday weekend, and there were lots of cooks, this recipe stood out. BTW it took an hour to shred the beef and get rid of lots of fat in the chuck roast but it did not shrink much as I anticipated in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Wow! This was awesome!!! I normally hate leftover meat of any kind (except for left over ground beef from spaghetti and meat sauce). Not this stuff - it tasted just as good (if not better) the next day. I used a cross-rib roast and trimmed all visible fat off of it before placing it in the slow cooker. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Just amazing!! I didn't get the roast out in time to thaw so I threw it in the microwave on defrost and then chucked in in the slow cooker on high for approximately 4 hours. This sauce amount was not enough because of the higher temperature, so after I shredded the beef, I ended up adding about a cup of our favourite BBQ sauce. My husband ate about 3 helpings that night, and has taken it for the lunch the last couple of days as a sandwich filling. Everyone at our house loved, loved, LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Delicious and easy! I added a sliced onion and omitted the liquid smoke and it turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Defiance, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Tasty and will make again. Skipped liquid smoke and reduced vinegar to 1/8 cup. Per others, I removed most of the fat before cooking to reduce excess liquid fat on top. I added a cornstarch slurry to thicken sauce after I removed meat to shred, replaced, and then simmered for 1/2 hour more. Served on rolls with sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 975) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States