Barbecued Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was a very good recipe. I made it as the recipe stated except used a bit less vinegar. I made it the day before and let it sit in the refrigerator to let the fat harden. Everyone enjoyed it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made sloppy Joes using this recipe and it was so good. I used 1 pd of ground beef and cut the recipe in half to make it saucier. I only put in 1/8 cup of light brown sugar. Ketchup has plenty of sugar in it. I also added 1/4 cup of mixed diced red, yellow, and green peppers and used 2 large cloves of fresh garlic. WINNER!! Thanks for the recipe. I'm saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeNe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Awesome! This will be a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Katzer
Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I just did not like anything about this recipe. The sauce did not tast like bar-b-que sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Started with this recipe and made some changes in cooking method and sauce ingredients. I put garlic powder and pepper on the meat and wrapped it in foil. I cooked the packet on low for @ 8-9 hours. The meat was really tender, falling apart. I carefully lifted the foil packet with the liquid and grease out of the crockpot and reserved it. (My thought was that my sauce might be a little too thin. I ended up not adding of the liquid in. I would keep this in mind if I had a larger cut of meat and needed more sauce.) Next, I pulled the meat apart, mixed sauce, combined with meat, and cooked on high for @ 1 hour. I made sauce as follows: 1 1/2 c ketchup, 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c red wine vinegar, 6 T mustard, 2 t Worcestershire sauce, 1 t chili powder, 1/2 t garlic powder and 1/4 t black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made this with a 1/2-lb breakfast steak and 2 servings, for just myself. It came out WONDERFUL! I cut back on the vinegar, as some suggested, it was fine. I also added a small amount of olive oil to the mix. I will be making THIS.again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is amazing! It tastes like a restaurant dish and couldn't be any easier to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe. A favorite for us during football games and great as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
very good. simple with make this one often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Let me tell you how delicious this is... I made this for my fiancé's work potluck, and it got rave reviews! Putting meat in a slow cooker is nothing new, but what makes this so good is the delicious homemade barbecue sauce! There were some complaints in reviews about the vinegary taste to the sauce, so I just left out the vinegar altogether instead of potentially ruining the whole batch. I added a little extra brown sugar, because I served them as sliders with sweet Hawaiian rolls (TOTALLY recommend you try it. SO good.) Taste the sauce before pouring it over to meat, and just adjust it to your taste, if necessary. I was using a roast straight from the freezer, so I was not able to trim the excess fat before cooking, so to address the fat/grease issue, I put the roast in the crockpot by itself on high for about 2.5 hours. The meat had softened up to a point where I could trim trim the fat and drain whatever grease was in the bottom of the slow cooker. Then I poured the sauce over and cooked on low for about 8 hours. I took another reviewer's suggestion to pour the sauce into a bowl and let it sit in the freezer while shredding the meat. The fat rises to the top and you can just skim it off with a spoon before adding the sauce back to the pot. I did need to make a bit more sauce to add in at the end. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshBash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 972) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States