Barbecued Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
We absolutely loved the sauce. I didn't find it to be too thin, possibly because I didn't use a slow cooker. I cooked it in a dutch oven on the stovetop over low heat for about 6 hours. I'm giving this five stars because it is a good recipe, but this would taste waaaaaaay better if you used the recipe for pork instead of beef. I'll definitely keep this recipe for the sauce, but I'll only use it to cook pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Great sauce recipe. I am going to try brushing this on chicken over the grill this summer. I used about 1/2 the liquid smoke the recipe called but that is the only change. That change is personal preference so if you like it smoky add the full amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Excellent! My whole family loved it. The only change that I made was to use sucanat sugar in place of the brown sugar to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I wish I knew what all the fuss was with this recipe. I followed the recipe to the letter, and was very disappointed with the bland flavor. We ended up having to add Sweet Baby Ray BBQ sauce, which helped a little, but overall this recipe didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I think this is one of the easiest and yummiest meals I made in crock pot. Since I didn't have the smoke flavoring and worcestershire sauce, I added 1 cup of bbq sauce with smoke flavor and I added more crushed black pepper because I like it spicier. Maybe I could add chili powder next time. And since I didn't like it too vinegary the first time I made it, I used 1 tb sp in the 2nd time I made. I also added some potatoes, carrots and celery and ate this meal with warm bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoMeMotoU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
My husband loves this recipe. I always get good results. I have also used pork and venison. Both were awesome. Yesterday I forgot to take the meat out of the freezer. So I cooked the roast in beef broth for 4 hours on high then poured out all the broth. Added the sauce and cooked for another 5 hours on low. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Absolutely Fabulous!!!! My family loves this dish. I made it exactly as written with one small exception. Since I didn't have any "regular" dijon mustard on hand, I used Jack Daniels Southwestern spicy brown mustard and it had a perfect "bite" to it. Also, spooned over home made toasted hamburger buns. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burnin' biscuits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Oh, so divine! I halved all the sauce ingredients as my chuck roast was only a bit over 2 pounds (there was plenty). I did add about 1/2 an onion, chopped and used 3-4 garlic cloves. After I got this going in the morning, I realized I had no buns to serve this on and we were in the middle of a terrible winter storm...I didn't want to go to the store. Wracking my brain for an easy alternative without actually having to bake rolls...I made garlic cheddar biscuits to make the sandwiches THEY WERE INCREDIBLE! I will always serve it this way...we had NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made this exactly as directed. After mixing the sauce I thought it might taste too ketchup-y, but it was delicious!! (My boyfriend had four sandwiches) No need to brown the meat first. I cooked it for about 9 hours, and then stirred it - the meat fell apart and blended with the sauce perfectly. Next time I will definitely double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carli79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 967) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States