Barbecued Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is a good basic recipe, but I agreed with others that it had too much vinegar, and not enough flavor. I cooked mine in the slow cooker on low about 9 hours and that was good. I added brown sugar instead of white, garlic, liquid smoke, ketchup and dijon mustard. That made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
WOW!!! Couldn't ask for more: quick and easy to prepare, throw it all in the crockpot, ready when returning from work at the end of the day, house smells wonderful, a totally deeeeeeelicious meal, and after dinner my teen son printed out the recipe and taped it to the refrigerator door with a note which read: DON'T LOSE THIS RECIPE!!! (Great with potato salad or coleslaw and a sliver of watermelon.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS A WINNER!!! First I tried this recipe on the family. Concensus=SUPERB! (Even the kids loved it.) Then it was my featured dish at a huge family reunion, and though I'd made 175% as much as I thought I'd need, I found that I had to quickly thaw out what I'd frozen up the day before in order to satisfy the crowd. It was that good!! HINT: I found that serving is best with a leaf of lettuce on the bottom bun, which keeps the juices from softening the bun too much. Otherwise, don't change a thing. This recipes freezes well also. And incidentally, I didn't stand a chance of keeping this recipe a secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
Delicious! Cooked a 5 lb chuck roast in the slow cooker thinking leftovers would be good for lunch the next day. WRONG!! NO leftovers. Great balance of flavors. Substituted dried minced onion, and added some hot sauce for a little kick. Everyone really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was okay. I cooked the beef in the crockpot on low all day. I thickened the sauce on the stovetop, but ended up adding bottled barbecue sauce. This should be called "Shredded Beef Sandwiches", as they are definitely NOT barbecued. I suggest using crushed tomatoes rather than diced, omitting the extra water, and swapping brown sugar or molasses for white sugar. A little mustard wouldn't hurt, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This tasted incredible! I changed it quite a bit but the recipe was a good starting point. I used chicken rather than beef and simmered for an hour and a half. Then I shredded the chicken and mixed it in with the juice which had thickened quite a bit. I added more vinegar, Worcestershire sauce (used worcestershire for chicken rather than regular worcestershire), 1/4 cup of tomato sauce, 1/4 cup of barbecue sauce and a little bit of water and simmered that for about 25 minutes. The meat was so tender and full of flavor. I will probably use the meat for many recipes in the future, not just sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
After cooking overnight on high in the crock-pot, I doctored it up a bit, but very tender and just the right moisture after simmering shredded meat in juices for an additional 30 min & serving with tongs to shake off excess moisture. BBQ sauce on the side but not necessary. Used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
So good we almost cried. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was awful - the meat itself was okay, but how was I to make a Barbecue sauce out of the tomato pieces floating in grease? I took the meat out after cooking, and then shredded and made my own barbecue sauce to put over the meat. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Made this exactly as directed in recipe. Excellent. Used Delmonte petite diced tomatoes with garlic, olive oil and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States