Barbecued Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is a good basic recipe, but I agreed with others that it had too much vinegar, and not enough flavor. I cooked mine in the slow cooker on low about 9 hours and that was good. I added brown sugar instead of white, garlic, liquid smoke, ketchup and dijon mustard. That made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
THIS IS TASTY, THO I DID CHANGE IT A BIT. I USED BONELESS CHICKEN BREASTS INSTEAD OF BEEF. I TOOK THE ADVICE OF A FEW OTHER REVIEWS AND CUT DOWN ON THE VINEGAR AND ADDED BBQ SAUCE WHEN IT WAS DONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
this was a good recipe but not what i expected. i used the crockpot set on high for 3 hours. i got impatient (and didn't crack the lid as suggested) and boiled it on the stove for 15 minutes. it was good on hogie bread with bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is very simple and tastes amazing!!! I did, however use larger tomato pieces since the kids don't like them. That made it easy to pick them out of the kid's servings. My 4 year old and 1 year old loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I thought this had too strong of a vinegar taste. I added a bit more sugar, but i think it just wasn't the recipe that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This recipe was great! I used my slow cooker and simply added an extra 1/2 cup of water and cooked it on low about 8 hours. I also added a little barbecue sauce after it was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This was very tasty, we ate it over rice. The kids loved it and we had left overs the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
This recipe rocks! I have made it several times now...i use my crock pot to make this dish..when i do that i always add a bit more wet ingredience.. but otherwise i dont change a thing. Thank u so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This was a great recipe!!! I've tried other versions and have found them to be dry and tough. This was moist and the meat fell apart. I actually cooked it longer than the 3 hours and add some dijon mustard and garlic for extra flavor. My son and husband LOVED IT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This was an awesome recipie!! Everybody loved it, and it was so simple!! It was so flavorful and tender, you could probably use your slow cooker if you wanted to. Try this recipie it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States