Barbecued Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is my new favorite bbq sandwich! So simple. And delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was okay. I cooked the beef in the crockpot on low all day. I thickened the sauce on the stovetop, but ended up adding bottled barbecue sauce. This should be called "Shredded Beef Sandwiches", as they are definitely NOT barbecued. I suggest using crushed tomatoes rather than diced, omitting the extra water, and swapping brown sugar or molasses for white sugar. A little mustard wouldn't hurt, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wondering if anyone has ever tried this with boneless/skinless chicken breasts? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
After cooking overnight on high in the crock-pot, I doctored it up a bit, but very tender and just the right moisture after simmering shredded meat in juices for an additional 30 min & serving with tongs to shake off excess moisture. BBQ sauce on the side but not necessary. Used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This came out ok but it wasn't very barbeque tasting. I boiled down the liquid at the end and after using the immersion blender, did come up with a thin sauce that tasted pretty good but didn't really taste like BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The flavor was good, but I think I was expecting the end result to be a red sauce - like a red BBQ sauce and it was not. I just added a little ketchup and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I was a little skeptical because I was afraid it the liquid would evaporate before the meat was too tender to shred or it would be too watery, but it turned out just fine. And the flavor was wonderful. I didn't get a vinegary taste at all. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
So good we almost cried. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I was really disappointed. The meat came out so runny. It was more like a soup. I followed the recipe to a tee except reduced the amount of vinegar. It had a decent flavor but was just really runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was awful - the meat itself was okay, but how was I to make a Barbecue sauce out of the tomato pieces floating in grease? I took the meat out after cooking, and then shredded and made my own barbecue sauce to put over the meat. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States