Barbecued Beef Ribs for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've made this several times and found that the boiling time for the ribs varies depending on the ribs. Sometimes it takes longer to reach desired tenderness, sometimes not. That being said, the sauce is awesome. Much better than a bottled sauce and a much better companion for the beef. My husband declared this better than any resteraunt and requests it often. I'm not a big beef eater, but I must say this recipe is beef at its best! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This is the best barbecue beef ribs recipe I have ever made. I followed the directions except I used a brand barbecue sauce and they were so tender and so very delicious. Taste of Home has some outstanding recipes. Thanks for publishing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
The cooking directions were very helpful; it took maybe 30 min. more of boiling than recommended. I like a little more sauce than recommended, so I recommend doing 1.5X the recipe amounts. Also, I added extra worcestershire sauce, plus a few shakes of crushed red peppers and a few dashes of liquid smoke. The sauce was fantastic in texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Beef ribs always seem to be a bargain at the store, so I've been suspicious about them. No longer. I read the reviews and doctored up the sauce some. I simmered the ribs for about an hour and a half. I highly recommend doubling the sauce, which I did and it was just the right amount. I went to make this and discovered I was out of ketchup (gasp!), so I used 1/2 cup of spaghetti sauce and a 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce. I also added some sweet Thai chili sauce, used 2 teaspons of worcestershire, and threw in some crushed red pepper. It was kickier and had more heat than traditional BBQ sauce. I cooked these for about 55 minutes, and I probably could have taken them out at 45-50 minutes and they would have been fine. Served with "sweet restaurant slaw" from this site (killer!) and doctored up Bush's baked beans (cooked for same time and at same temp as ribs, so was a breeze). Home cookin' for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Super yummy and tender! I used boneless country style beef ribs, and it turned out so well. As others suggested, I simmered the beef (just under boiling) for about 1 hr. 30 min., but I found that they didn't need to be in the oven for an hour. It was more like a half hour for me and they started to burn, so I turned it to 300 and then just took them out. Very happy with these, and will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
My husband and I really liked the taste of this recipe but I had to simmer the ribs in the water for much longer (about 3 hours) to get them to be really tender. Luckily I started early. I might try using the sauce part of this recipe but put them in the slow cooker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Great recipe!! I did simmer ribs for 2 hours also. I did double the sauce. Try this though, add 2 Tbsp dark rum or spice rum, add 2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce(for lumpia, egg rolls, etc. It is located in the Oriental or Pacific Islander isle in store). Try them two items in sauce. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I had never made ribs before I made these. I had been given a package of beef ribs and needed a recipe and I made a great choice. My husband told me it was the best meal I had ever made and since we have been married for over 10 years that was quite a statment. I used a slow cooker to boil the meat and I let it simmer for 2 1/2 to 3 hours but other than that I followed the recipe and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Oh my.......I've always had trouble having ribs come out well when cooked in the oven. I do not recall ever cooking beef ribs but when Hubs mentioned they were on sale at the store I started looking for recipes. I tried this one but I used commercial BBQ with extra molasses thrown in, and they were INCREDIBLE! The cooking time was right on, and even my son, who hates to eat anything like ribs because of the mess, dove in. I'm going to try this method with pork ribs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Excellent recipe for beef ribs. They came out super tender, although I did boil them for about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. I put what ever sauce on it I want and they turn out great. The cooking method is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States