Barbecued Beef Ribs for Two Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Beef ribs always seem to be a bargain at the store, so I've been suspicious about them. No longer. I read the reviews and doctored up the sauce some. I simmered the ribs for about an hour and a half. I highly recommend doubling the sauce, which I did and it was just the right amount. I went to make this and discovered I was out of ketchup (gasp!), so I used 1/2 cup of spaghetti sauce and a 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce. I also added some sweet Thai chili sauce, used 2 teaspons of worcestershire, and threw in some crushed red pepper. It was kickier and had more heat than traditional BBQ sauce. I cooked these for about 55 minutes, and I probably could have taken them out at 45-50 minutes and they would have been fine. Served with "sweet restaurant slaw" from this site (killer!) and doctored up Bush's baked beans (cooked for same time and at same temp as ribs, so was a breeze). Home cookin' for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Great recipe!! I did simmer ribs for 2 hours also. I did double the sauce. Try this though, add 2 Tbsp dark rum or spice rum, add 2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce(for lumpia, egg rolls, etc. It is located in the Oriental or Pacific Islander isle in store). Try them two items in sauce. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I had never made ribs before I made these. I had been given a package of beef ribs and needed a recipe and I made a great choice. My husband told me it was the best meal I had ever made and since we have been married for over 10 years that was quite a statment. I used a slow cooker to boil the meat and I let it simmer for 2 1/2 to 3 hours but other than that I followed the recipe and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was an excellent recipe!!! My husband has not stopped raving about how tender and moist the ribs were even after 2 hours of cooking. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I like the method of how these ribs are made. I've been looking for a way to make them without burning them and this seems to be it. However, my family of 7 did not like the BBQ sauce in this recipe. Therefore, I will use this method in the future, but substitute a sauce I know my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEYBEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Delicious..I wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was by far the best meal I have cooked for my family yet! What a wonderful sauce...and it had just the right crispness to the outside. I have a family of four and this recipe made enough for us even though it is supposed to be just for two. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1olygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We loved this. I plan to try on other types of meat as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've made this several times and found that the boiling time for the ribs varies depending on the ribs. Sometimes it takes longer to reach desired tenderness, sometimes not. That being said, the sauce is awesome. Much better than a bottled sauce and a much better companion for the beef. My husband declared this better than any resteraunt and requests it often. I'm not a big beef eater, but I must say this recipe is beef at its best! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I boiled the ribs for two hours. My family really liked this recipe. It was tangy and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States