Barbecued Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I just want to say you are a life savor! I HATE liver with a passion. I was diagnosed with very low iron because of a surgery that I am to be having. I went passed 6 wks no luck still low. I have 4 wks to get my hemoglobin to 12 its at 11.3. I am now eatting liver twice a day. This recipe is the bomb!!!! The liver taste is gone. I eat it likes its hamburger. I did add some hot peppers and mushrooms but other than that it was perfect. Do you know that even my 7 year old asked for seconds. I may just like liver now...well with this recipe anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe was a big surprise. I like liver, but not a liver lover. Thought I would try this once. Cooked two lbs. of liver, my husband and I had two meals of it and nothing left. I even went back for seconds. We always eat the standard liver and onions but now this will certainly be right there too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I used chicken liver instead of beef liver and didn't flour the pieces before frying in oil. I added salt, pepper, onion, oregano, parsley and paprika to the pan while frying. I substituted about 10 ounces of tomato sauce and 2 spoons of tomato paste in place of the water and ketchup. I served it with plain white rice and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Never had liver like that before and I was surprized how tender a cooked liver can be! I put it in a pita bread and ate it like a hamburger, it was delicious. Oh! and super easy to make! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Made this recipe for me and my hubby. We both liked it, however I didn't have to cook it in the sauce for the 20 minutes. As it was I had to add a small amount of water because it was evaporating. I usually have the standard liver and onions, but it was really good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe is just fantastic. I make liver often,and this will be my top recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My family finally ate liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
My husband, a former liver hater, just loved this! He now loves liver and is looking forward to eating this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Thank God! I finally found a new way to cook liver and love it! this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Hogan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States