Barbecued Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I just want to say you are a life savor! I HATE liver with a passion. I was diagnosed with very low iron because of a surgery that I am to be having. I went passed 6 wks no luck still low. I have 4 wks to get my hemoglobin to 12 its at 11.3. I am now eatting liver twice a day. This recipe is the bomb!!!! The liver taste is gone. I eat it likes its hamburger. I did add some hot peppers and mushrooms but other than that it was perfect. Do you know that even my 7 year old asked for seconds. I may just like liver now...well with this recipe anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe was a big surprise. I like liver, but not a liver lover. Thought I would try this once. Cooked two lbs. of liver, my husband and I had two meals of it and nothing left. I even went back for seconds. We always eat the standard liver and onions but now this will certainly be right there too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I used chicken liver instead of beef liver and didn't flour the pieces before frying in oil. I added salt, pepper, onion, oregano, parsley and paprika to the pan while frying. I substituted about 10 ounces of tomato sauce and 2 spoons of tomato paste in place of the water and ketchup. I served it with plain white rice and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Never had liver like that before and I was surprized how tender a cooked liver can be! I put it in a pita bread and ate it like a hamburger, it was delicious. Oh! and super easy to make! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Made this recipe for me and my hubby. We both liked it, however I didn't have to cook it in the sauce for the 20 minutes. As it was I had to add a small amount of water because it was evaporating. I usually have the standard liver and onions, but it was really good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe is just fantastic. I make liver often,and this will be my top recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My family finally ate liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
My husband, a former liver hater, just loved this! He now loves liver and is looking forward to eating this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Thank God! I finally found a new way to cook liver and love it! this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Hogan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States