Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Amazing rib sauce! I boiled the ribs for a little over an hour, basted them with marinade then grilled them for about 10 minutes rather than the suggested 30 minutes as they started to char. I used half the amount of rum due to some reviews suggesting it was a little strong which turned out great. Will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Holy yum! I had a really hard time figuring out what to use in regards to chile /chili sauce... The only chile with an "e" sauce I could find was the Thai chile...so that is what i used. not sure if the ribs were supposed to be as spicy as they were... But they were delish! A definite keeper! With the Thai chile sauce, they definitely had a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I only had time to marinate for 1 hour and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I must say that this recipe is absolutely divine. I do not own a grill so I prepared these in the oven. I normally boil my ribs before baking them but wanted to try the oven method as an alternative. I precooked the ribs in double foil at 350 degrees for an hour and a half. I marinated the cooked ribs overnight in the sauce. I stayed true to the recipe for the sauce except I cut the brown sugar by half. I also generously added red pepper flakes because we like things seriously spicy in our house. I baked the marinated ribs at 350 degrees covered for 15 minutes..uncover..baste..15 minutes..turn..baste..15 minutes..done. My extremely picky teenage daughter said they were the the best ribs that she has ever had. What a refreshing change from ribs with nothing more than barbecue sauce dumped on them. I dont think that I will ever cook ribs that way again. I would suggest that if you have some healthy appetites in your house..double this recipe for sure. You can serve this with good old fashioned barbecue or picnic type sides. You can do a southern themed dinner with some sort of cornbread on the side. Oh heck..you could do an elegant upscale dinner with grilled asparagus and other fancy stuff. Enjoy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Omg! This recipe is awesome! I had to make some substitutions using what I had on hand. Bourbon instead of rum, bbq sauce instead of ketchup and chili sauce instead of chile sauce (purchased in error). I baked as directed (I would never boil ribs) and marinated overnight. Planned to grill them but it rained so brought them to room temperature for an hour and baked them for 30 minutes and they were great! Falling off the bone tender and needed nothing else! Everyone loved them and they are now my go to rib recipe. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I have been looking for a really good recipe for ribs! This is it!! I'm so happy. I did the boiling method. Sorry to the reviewer who said never boil ribs. I've actually done that before with other rib recipes and found that it really tenderizes them and it does cut some of the fat. So I'm going against that advice because it works for me. I didn't have any chili sauce so substituted some Sweet Baby Rays and some hot sauce. The sauce makes it. I grilled them but I'm sure if the weather was bad that the oven would work for finishing them off. The sauce is killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
These are really good. We had eight people over and everyone loved them. The sauce is delicious, this is how I will do the ribs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
OH MY LORD these are the best ribs EVER! I only had sweet chili sauce so I used that along with half more of regular bbq sauce. We were not rib fans.....but we sure are now! I made these twice now and double the second batch of sauce and froze it for next time. I used to boil my ribs too.....but after seeing and tasting them this time...I'm a baker now! My son is not a huge fan of my cooking but he had his share and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RubenC
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Did add bbq sauce. Just followed baked them and threw them on the grill. All I used to season was salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious ! my boyfriend and I like things really spicy so i added chile flakes and cayenne to the recipe but other than that its perfect i simmered the extra sauce after i was done cooking all the ribs and was able to pour it over the ribs so they were really saucy. I WANTED TO DRINK THE SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States