Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
On our grill it only needed 15 minutes. We boiled the ribs first as the others suggested. The sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Loved this recipe!!!! I halved the sauce because I didn't have that many ribs. Sooo good. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kramer4j

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Very good recipe! The marinade is fantastic! I stuck to the ingredients listed with the exception of substituting rum for whiskey (personal preference) and I used siracha for chile sauce. A lot of people boiled their ribs but I have to say, that is just not how good ribs are made.. you lose so much essential flavor in the broth! If you tried baking and thought it lacked some luster, try these changes... Coat the ribs in half of the sauce and wrap in tin foil. Allow to marinate overnight. In the morning, throw them in the oven for 2 hrs at 275F (The trick to ribs is low and slow!). Allow to cool and coat with remaining marinade. Let sit for at least 1 hr at room temperature (I let mine sit in the fridge for about 6 hours). Cook the ribs 15 mins on each side on the grill. Perfect ribs every time! If you don't love it let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jweekes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
The tenderness was perfect. I just didn't care for the flavor but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Delicious! Melts in your mouth! Only thing I changed was to boil my ribs before following original recipe. Cooked on a low fire grill basting with sauce then baked 30 minutes in sauce before serving. Have to admit I ate one after grilling....mmmmm! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made these tonight. Only change I made was I baked them in oven because it is 0 deg outside. They were wonderful and the family says they are the best ribs they ever had. My husband says this sauce would be great on a meatloaf. I used "Heinz" chili sauce. Next time I will use authentic brand from Mexican isle. Thank you so much for this recipe. I will use it for many years. I will NEVER use a bottled bbq sauce again...YUCK!...ok, maybe on a burger. EDIT: I'Ve always pre-boiled my ribs - three times now baking them, I will never boil again. I believe the boiling removes too much flavor and makes them sort of rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved the sauce. I couldn't find chile sauce so I used 1/2 Heinz Chili Sauce and 1/2 Lousiana Hot Sauce. Delish. I was in a hurry to make this for a weeknight dinner so I took a shortcut. I cut the ribs into individual ribs, boiled them for 20 minutes, then fried in oil for 2-4 minutes (until brown). Then I sauteed all fried ribs on the stove with the sauce for about 10 minutes. We ate and loved it. No the meat was not falling off the bone because I took this shortcut, but it was very good still. Next time, I'll try this using the method in the instructions ... maybe on a weekend when I have more time. But the sauce is very delicious and my family really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I decided to take the advice of my fellow reviewers by boiling the ribs, rather than baking them. I did not have any rum at the time, so I used whiskey as a substitute. I used brown sugar and the grounded black pepper as instructed. The soy sauce I used was gluten free, since I'm trying to watch my glutes. I did not have any ketchup, chile sauce, or worcestershire sauce on hand, so I used some gormet spicy diana sauce instead. I used two teaspoons of garlic power, since I had no cloves. Dijon mustard seemed like a reasonable substitute for dry mustard. The outcome didn't smell that great, so I poured in a cup of maple syrup. Threw them into a few plastic bags in the refrigerator over night. The next day, oh my lord were those ribs amazing!! Great recipe! I'd recommend it to anyone looking for great meal at a family and friend BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just terrific and juicy. Served it at my Christmas party and had no leftovers, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Delicious and super tender. The only thing I changed was to halve the chili sauce because I was serving it to my kids, but I think otherwise the extra heat would be great too. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States