Barbecue Butter Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I made this on top of the stove and left it simmer for about 45 min stirring occasionally to prevent burning. I also only used 1/2 cup brown sugar.- Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used slightly less brown sugar. Excellent recipe. Last time I made them in the crockpot and they were equally as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Singer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Me and my hubby loved this..a great way to incorporate a different type of bean into dinner.I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used turkey bacon and added 1/4 cup water. I baked them at 400 for 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I brought these butter beans to a barbecue at my in-laws' and everyone LOVED them! "These are better than Bush's!" they said (and these people love their Bush's baked beans). The only thing I do differently is saute the onion in butter until it is soft and I bake them for just 1 hour. 1 1/2 hours is too long--the bacon will burn and the beans will dry out. Needless to say, I think these beans will be making a regular appearance at family barbecues from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Delicious! Tasted alot like regular baked beans but I used the large butter beans and they were meaty and awesome in this dish.A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surpy77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Not bad, but not as good as I would have thought when reading the other reviews. I followed the advice of another reviewer who added maple syrup and barbecue sauce, but I think maybe there was too much ketchup in these? I might make them again and experiment a little. I cooked them for about an hour at 200 and another half hour or so at 325 and didn't have any trouble with them drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I did change a few things, I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, great northern beans (all I had on hand) added 1 heaping Tbsp of barbeque sauce and 2 Tbsp of maple syrup. I also cooked them at 200 for an hour, they were to die for, I am making them for the 2nd time in 2 weeks today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I think I over cooked them. Dry and bland. Next time I'll add more sauce and chopped jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
This was quick, cheap, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States