Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I roasted it for 5 hours at 300 degrees, which made it more tender. After the beef was cooked, I separated the pan drippings, poured off the fat, and combined the pan juices with the sauce. Outstanding! Leftovers went in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob in Houston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
OK, but not as flavorful or barbecuey as I hoped for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I would give this ZERO stars if I could. Way too vinegary. Roast was not even close to tender in that amount of time. Recipe was impractical and used way more dishes than needed. Blaaahh. For once the crowd was wrong, this is not worthy of even the one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
If I could rate this higher than five stars, I would! Could only find a 3# roast at grocery store, so used that with same amount of sauce. Glad I did, or I think it would have gotten a little dry. Other than increasing the amount of sauce wouldn't change a thing. Served on "homemade" hamburger buns from the bakery, with a noodle salad and chips. Was a great hit with everyone, taste and texture of the roast as opposed to using ground beef in barbecues is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made this for our holiday party this year and everyone was raving about it! I definitely agree with all the reviews suggesting doubling the sauce, I did and that seemed perfect. I made the sauce and pulled the beef the night before and left the meat sit in the sauce overnight, to be reheated for the party. We had a little for dinner the night we made it and it was yummy, but I do think that the taste was even better the next day after sitting overnight for the flavors to blend. It stood up well to staying heated in a slow-cooker throughout the party. A real winner and crowd-pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I made this during the summer and forgot to rate it but I came back to find the recipe we liked it so much. I had the butcher slice the roast beef in the deli and then we made the sauce and let it marinate with the sliced beef overnight. We cooked it up in a frying pan and it was excellent- everyone raved about the flavors- we did it southern style and had cole slaw to put on top. MMM good! I am back to use the same recipe for shredded pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by special lady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was very good, but I am not sure about the amout of sodium listed. The chili sauce alone has that much per serving. Is there such a thing as Low Sodium Chili sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
My meat turned out great, and I baked it exactly as stated. I like the body/firmness of the oven-cooked meat as opposed to the crockpot-cooked meat. I did shred and add to the double sauce recipe and THEN cook in the crockpot, and it was perfect. I did feel like it needed a LITTLE smoke taste, so a couple tbsp. of Trader Joe's BBQ sauce did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I started using your recipe years ago, but never rated it. Made it for my husband's Poker Night this weekend, and it went FAST! So I thought I'd take the time to let you know how much my family enjoys it! I make the meat in the crock pot, and when it the times comes to make the sauce, I add the juices from the beef to the chili sauce bottle instead of the water. Makes it SUPER rich, and super bad for you, I guess! We love it! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Liked the flavor of the sauce, but the meat came out very tough and did not shred like it should. Would maybe make again but would do it in the crock pot next time. I also would use a chuck roast. They are too full of fat and you waste so much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States