Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2002
I use this recipe each year for a New Year's Day brunch. Adults only attend and I platter all kinds of cut fruits with a simple syrup, powdered sugar and shaved chocolates. Everyone can pick their toppings and it is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I really liked how this tasted and it was easy to make. However, I had a hard time flipping these! When I'd get it right, they turned out great. But when I couldn't flip them (they are very thin), they were a mess. I think I might need a wider spatula or something to make these work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I love German pancakes and have looked for a recipe for them for ages. This is so easy that it is hard to believe how good they are. Remember though, the first pancake to be cooked has to be thrown away. (Really, it does!) When the pancake is cooked and put on the place, spread a little butter over it and then fold it over itself twice. Top with a little more butter, a squeeze of lemon juice, and a sprinkling of powdered sugar. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
if you have trouble flipping the pancakes, try running a toothpick around the outside of the pancake and using it to grab the pancake. Then you can use your fingers to flip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
OK. Not the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Being a Catholic, we of course never ate meat on Friday's. This was a dish that my german mom made every few months on those evenings. My brother's and I loved it and certainly still do. Sometimes we used maple syrup and others we spread jam on the pancake, rolled it up and then sprinkled with powdered sugar. Always an occasional treat, whether it be a quickie dinner or a leisurely breakfast. My kids love it just as much as I did. Thanks for the memories, Deborah......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is definitely a German version of pancakes. For those who crave rich, thick buttermilk pancakes, this recipe isn't for you! I got kind of nervous seeing how runny the batter was, so I cheated and doubled the flour amount. I also only had whole wheat flour, which made it gritty. I also didn't want to use a blender to mix the ingredients, so I kept at it by hand. The cakes were very flat in shape, so I just made several. Once covered with syrup and butter, it did the trick OK. But I doubt I'll make this recipe again. In short, don't listen to me. Be your own judge. Maybe it had to do with my rebellious nature to not follow the instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
RReeeaaallllllyyy gggooooooddd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
yummy and easy! heavenly with strawberries and whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States