Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was very good and reminded me of my mother standing over the stove cooking me crepes when I was a child. I loved them and she couldn't cook them fast enough! I used the orange sauce for crepes, which I obtained from this site to pour over them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Delicious! My hubby & oldest girl says, "wow, those are good, can I have more?" So I had to make another batch :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was a great recipe. I have a great deal of experience flipping pancakes (was a breakfast chef for quite some time), so I had no problems with the cooking process. I was worried the batter was too runny but tried it anyway, they came out perfect. I'd never had german pancakes till now but I definitely will again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
These were a real treat with butter, sugar, and cinnamon rolled inside. The texture and taste were just like my German grandmother used to make... I made them on a griddle and it took me a couple of tries to get the shape right - but they sure were easy to turn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I had made these pancakes years ago, but lost the recipe. I tried others that were baked in the oven, but we prefer this one. Thanks! I usually serve with apple slices that I cook with a little butter, cinnamon and sugar. Place the warm apples on half of the pancake and cover with the other half. Sprinkle with confectioners sugar. Yum! Tonight I had more pancakes than apples, so I made rhubarb sauce with rhubarb from our garden. I used that in place of the apples and we liked it even better. The sweet pancake and tart rhubarb was a real taste treat! You must try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Now I've lived in Germany and they know the difference between a pancake and a crepe or blintz. Very nice crepes, but not like American pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaggyMoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
It needs a pinch of salt, to balance it. I love adding real vanilla bean extract. Fill it with creek yogurt and drizzle some maple syrup. Serve with fresh fruit... and the mornings will never be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvia D

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is the best German pancake recipe! It is easy and tastes great!!! I made just poured all of it in at once and made one large german pancake like you would get at a restaurant. Sprinkled with lemon and powdered sugar. My husband loved it better then they old one I used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
delicious! I'm still quite a novice at cooking/food preparation of any kind, and found these to be easy and fun. The 'toothpick method' for flipping the thin 'cakes works very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Fabulous! My tips are to add about a 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract, and you can cut out about 150 calories by using Splenda instead of sugar, you can't tell the difference! Also, I stuffed the inside with hot strawberries in a Butter Lite syrup. My favorite pancake recipe by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States