Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Would be 5 stars except for the practice needed to make these work. The taste is great. I used heaping TBSPs of flour and added a dash of salt. After messing up a couple, I finally "got it". What worked for me was using a small nonstick skillet and wiping it with vegetable oil on a paper towel between uses. The toothpick trick also helped a lot. There is a point at which the broad tip of the toothpick will loosen the edge w/o tearing the pancake, then just go around the edge enough to be able to put a thin spatula under for flipping. If the whole edge is not firmed up, it will tear. I used low/medium heat, because the first one was 'way too brown. Also, I did not fill these, but rather sprinkled them with fresh lemon juice and powdered sugar. Without filling, this recipe makes two servings at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, and was disappointed. The pancakes were extremely eggy and hard to flip as there wasn't quite as much flour in them as I felt there should be to really hold their shape. My grandmother made German pancakes throughout my childhood and hers were more crepe-like and not nearly so sweet. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
While the flavor was nice, they were just too difficult to work with. It seems all those with a German background had more success....what is the trick? I let them cook until dry, as one reviewer suggested, but the problem is with flipping them. Where they didn't tear, they instead bunched up which led to them being underdone in those spots. I used a non-stick pan with a little butter but they just flat out refused to flip nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made exactly as written. My husband liked them better than I did and my son really didn't like them...so that is why I gave this recipe 3 stars. Could only make one at a time which was a little time consuming...probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
As a Mennonite German we made these large flat pancakes, we call them flinsin. We roll them up with butter and homemade syrup, the best treat. It's my daughter's favorite meal served with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I have to agree with a few other reviewers that these were difficult to make. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very simple, good tasting, quick recipe. After reading other reviews I took a step from swedish pancakes and added a bit of melted butter to the batter for easier flipping. Worked great, nothing stuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
These are fantastic...I used the toothpick around the edge idea and the first one didn't work out so good but the rest worked great! I made an Caramel-Disaronno Apple Filling and these were delicious as a dessert for my German dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Almost like grammys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I wanted to edit this to give all you folks who are having issues flipping these some tips. I make these probably once a month and they are my daughters favorite breakfast- about the only thing that will get her out of bed. *Use a good non stick skillet *make sure you are starting with a hot oiled (Pam) skillet *you will need Pam and I reapply after every 2-3 pancakes *you have to make sure most of the moisture has evaporated before flipping. For me it is about 35-45 seconds depending how thick they are. They should look "dry" not wet. *to get the perfect shape I pour with one hand and rotate my pan with another until I get the size I want. I just eye it. They are usually very thin on the outer edge. *To remove from the pan I go around the edge with a rubber spatula then flip with my hands. Yes hot but doable. *they should be very light golden brown when you flip *the second side just needs a little time in the pan you don't want these to be crunchy When I was a kid in elementary school they had an International day where Moms came in and cooked things from their native land. I stumbled across the room where one of the Moms was making German Pancakes. I probably ate 10 of them that day and have never forgotten the crepe with the lemon and sugar on them. I made these this morning for my lemon crazy dd. She loved them and so did I. It doesn't make a lot, in fact, the two of us ate the whole batch. Thanks for sharing the recipe Deborah. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States