Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These are just like the German pancakes I love order at IHOP! Great with fresh lemon juice squeezed over them, then dusted with powdered sugar. These are lot like thick crepes, so you might find it easier to cook them that way. Pour some batter in a small, oiled skillet & swirl the batter to evenly coat the pan. The edges will appear dry & slightly browned when it's time to filp them. You can alternate between 2 heated skillets to make it move along faster, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yummy, taste great with blueberry syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
After making my first couple, I would have rated this a one. They were so thin, and hard to flip...I kept sticking them to themselves whenever I touched them, and on top of that, my pan was too hot and they were burning within the first three seconds. Needless to say, I got frustrated. And so I decided to make them thicker...LOTS thicker. They still stuck to the pan, but they were easier to remove since there wasn't as much chance of ripping them if you made a wrong move. They were delicious, but I'm not sure they were worth the headache of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Not so great. Like a flimsy custard sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I loved this German pancake and will be making this often. These can be a little tricky to flip so I used a small Teflon skillet and buttered the bottom before adding the egg mixture. Loosen the edges before you try to flip the pancake. It is a nice eggy pancake that is light and excellent served with fruit and a little powdered sugar. For us, it was a perfect breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wonderful German pancakes! I also add a good dose of vanilla extract and a little almond extract. I serve it with pears (canned pears chilled overnight with a little honey and cinnamon) then top with a little bit of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacona, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These are the best thing in the world. They are hard to flip, the temp. has to be just right, once your figure it out its easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Very easy and tasty recipe. I also used 1/4 cup of flour instead of what the recipe calls for though to make them a little less eggy and a little thicker. I coupled the pancakes with some jam and my toddler gobbled them up for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
A little too sweet so I would suggest less sugar. But otherwise they are just like my German mom used to make! Wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Followed the recipe, but added a tsp of vanilla. Brought me back to my childhood when my grandmother used to make them for me! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States