Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
easy delicious recipe for crepes. I could not shape them at all though because the batter was so runny, they came out all kinds of crazy shapes, lol. Used cooking spray to make them easy to flip. Once done, I put a little butter & Squeezed a lil lemon on them and they taste like german crepes from Ihop. You could add all kinds of fruits and flavors to this. next time i'll try with vanilla extract and a lil more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Very good, I did add a touch of vanilla to the batter, Very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Fabulous recipe. My son said that they were better tasting than our regular Sunday pancakes. These will be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great recipe!! This is just like my Mom's recipe. Both my parents came from Poland after the war so we've always called this recipe "Polish pancakes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Been making these ever since I tried one @ the old Farmers Market in Kitchener which is a huge German community in Ontario. My sons all request these when I ask them what they want for breakfast. We spread them with jam then roll them up :) LOVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I've been looking for this recipe for years! My Grandma used to make these "Swedish Pancakes" for me as a child. Funny, all of Europe wants to claim their country's name on them! HA…my Grandma wasn't German or Swedish! These are so easy to prepare and so easy to make…but they are AMAZING! Thanks Deborah for sharing Barbarella's pancakes…my Grandma has passed and I didn't have the quantities of ingredients…tomorrow's breakfast for my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
My mother who was German also made these. Wonderful treat for breakfast, she ALWAYS made a simple syrup (sugar and water), I never knew there was maple syrup until I was in my teens. Some of the German Heritage Groups have cookbooks, I have one from CO that is full of recipes I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Very quick and easy! These come out very thin, like crepes, unless you add extra flour and sugar,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars as it is close to the pancakes my Great-Grandmother made. My family calls these "Roll Up and Cuts " since we spread the cooked pancake with jam or sprinkle it with sugar, roll it up and cut it. Wonderful. For those who have trouble flipping the pancake, it does take a bit of practice. I was taught to tilt the pan and lift a corner for the batter to run underneath the pancake, but again, it takes practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These were way too thin. I couldn't even flip it over I had to add a lot more flour. Crepes are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States