Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These tasted great, but I also had trouble getting them to form into a round shape. I have a small frying pan that is great for making one pancake at a time, so I used it and found it was much easier to get that round shape. I also used 1/4 cup of flour instead of the amount suggested in the recipe to mellow out some of that eggy taste. After the alterations I believe that these are the best pancakes I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
These pancakes tasted fine but I found them very hard to create. They were extremely runny and hard to control in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is a delicious recipe. I remember having these as a little girl. Little hard to flip without tearing it up. I am sure it just takes a little practice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This is very difficult to make. The serving for four does not make enough for four, maybe three. You have to pour enough to make it a little thick in the pan so you can turn it without it breaking. I would suggest using a very small frying pan. The low rating is predominately due to the degree of difficulty in cooking this. Flavor was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
My Oma used to make this for me as a child, I misplaced her recipe and I tried this and it fit the bill perfectly! My german grandparents used to call this "polojinka" I make mine with Rosehip Jam in the center....if you are ever in a german store grab a jar of this jam you wont regret it. Thank you for replacing her recipe for me so I can enjoy it again with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
yummy and easy! heavenly with strawberries and whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
RReeeaaallllllyyy gggooooooddd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is definitely a German version of pancakes. For those who crave rich, thick buttermilk pancakes, this recipe isn't for you! I got kind of nervous seeing how runny the batter was, so I cheated and doubled the flour amount. I also only had whole wheat flour, which made it gritty. I also didn't want to use a blender to mix the ingredients, so I kept at it by hand. The cakes were very flat in shape, so I just made several. Once covered with syrup and butter, it did the trick OK. But I doubt I'll make this recipe again. In short, don't listen to me. Be your own judge. Maybe it had to do with my rebellious nature to not follow the instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Being a Catholic, we of course never ate meat on Friday's. This was a dish that my german mom made every few months on those evenings. My brother's and I loved it and certainly still do. Sometimes we used maple syrup and others we spread jam on the pancake, rolled it up and then sprinkled with powdered sugar. Always an occasional treat, whether it be a quickie dinner or a leisurely breakfast. My kids love it just as much as I did. Thanks for the memories, Deborah......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States