Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I'm 68 and these have been a Sunday morning event forever! So the word GREAT doesn't even cover it! BUT.....and there is always one of those lurking.............to do them justice, I made them almost cover the bottom of the pan when tipping, dipping and shaking the pool of batter in the pan. Sprinkle a bit of sugar on a warm plate so they don't stick. When you remove one from the pan, put butter on one side of it, followed by sprinkled granulated sugar. Then, squeeze about a quarter lemon on there. Then roll it up and place on a warm plate in the oven. Repeat until you have about 4 or 5 on the plate. Then, pour a big glass of cold, whole milk to have close by. You will be needing it! Cut the rolls into about 1 inch sections, one bite at a time, and make your way through this delicious feast! Then hit the milk! I put my recipe on RecipeCenter.com in 2005 but the site went south. People there loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
In high school we found this recipe for a foreign goods class and I'm been making it ever since! Best thing for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Only thing I would change next time is to leave out or reduce the sugar and add a wee bit of salt. But excellent as is, as well. Used a smaller skillet to control the size and shape to make them easier to flip,with a silicon spatula run around the edge to loosen it and then slid underneath to flip it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Isaac Hamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I don't have a picture to show as we ate them immediately. They were a bit tricky to get out of the pan for the first flip. By the time they came out(the last two)the batter was gone. Some were served with cinnamon sugar mixture and the favorite were with Nutella. By the way I used a non stick pan that I coated with oil and reapplied as I thought it needed. Cooking spray would be more convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Taste just like I Hop's. I added some lemon & butter, melted to pour over before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I didn't love them, my two year old did though! I might try this recipe again in the future to see if they turn out any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I love the simplicity. Easy to make (with some practice) and tasted like they should. I did take the advice of some of the other reviewers and used heaping table spoons of flour. Honestly, I'm not sure if that helped or not but it certainly didn't hurt. And the toothpick idea to help detach from the edges and to help flip worked very well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I have issues flipping pancakes and I found a flat grill n a dolleramma flipper with a wide flipper thing....make sure spatula is clean n smooth n lightly go around edges as cooking and slid n flip...if I can do this a 3 yr old couldcoom only little bit on second side...I added icing sugar n cinimon mix t matter as cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
These are very similar to the German pancakes my Mom used to make when I was a kid - she's full German, married an American GI in Berlin - only brought over 1 suitcase to America - and 1 cookbook was in it - I changed this recipe to resemble the thickness of my Mom's recipe - basically multiplied the ingredients by 4, added a pinch of salt, but removed some of the milk: 1 cup flour 2 cups milk pinch of salt 1/2 cup sugar 8 eggs mixed in the kitchenaid until mostly smooth cooked as described, on medium heat in a non-stick skillet delicious served with sugar and lemon (like in my childhood) or with syrup (for my kids) YUM! LECKER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Really easy. Fun to serve with a couple kinds of berries, some whipped cream, chopped pecans and maybe drizzling a little chocolate or good quality espresso balsamic across the top of the rolled pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States