Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
German pancakes are my favorite! I'm so glad I found this recipe I recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Taste so good sometimes I add a little bit more flour to make a thicker pancake. Love the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Exactly what my mom was craving. Now that she can't go to her favorite pancake house, she asked me to find a similar recipe and this was it!!! Melted butter, powdered sugar, and lemon juice make this a tastey breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Simple and crape-like. I found that it works quite well with honey instead of sugar, and a bit of vanilla makes it nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These were very difficult to create, and though the end result looked pretty it was tasteless. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Great but needs more flour otherwise it's a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been making regular pancakes for many years. Sometimes my husband and son would complain they were too thick and had no taste. I made Barbarella's German pancakes and my husband and son they were the best pancakes they have ever eaten. Definitely a keeper, a very big thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These are really lovely, & cut carbs but are rich. Much easier than crepes. Skipped the blender, whisked only, still tender. I made two batches: one as is, and one with whole wheat flour & raw sugar. We actually preferred the whole wheat/raw sugar version in a side-by-side comparison! The texture was the same, and the raw sugar did not overpower the flavor at all, just made the cake a touch richer. We followed the suggestion of using heaping tablespoons of flour, added a tiny bit of salt, used a pre-heated cast iron skillet, sprayed it on rare occasion with cooking spray, and the only pancake that I needed to throw out for the dog was cooked on a cooler pan half-way through the cooking process when I was both playing with the temp *&* trying to fit two smaller cakes onto my skillet......., so IMHO, trying to cook on a non-pre-heated pan is probably the cause of having to 'throw out the first pancake'? ....... but it took time for me to know that we want to use the heat setting just above the third notch on our burner's dial........ Yes, these are somewhat crepe like, but are more dense........., leave it to Germans to have a heavier more solid 'crepe'. I personally liked the butter-cinnamon-sugar combo more than any other we tried (the lemon/powdered sugar was nice, but not my fav...), pancake syrup was okay too....... depends on what you have with these perhaps...... Want to try a savory version in soup next, and to make these ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
**AMAZING** ... did I mention that these are amazing!!! The only thing I did different was I used 1 tsp of vanilla and 3 "heaping" tablespoons of flour, the rest I followed to a tee! I put a good amount of melted butter in my pan and had the heat on 5 (medium), made sure it was nice and hot and then put the mix in. They were a bit tricky to flip but not difficult, just be gentle and patient and it will work like a dream. I got it on the first try! I added raspberries, bananas, sausage pieces, maple syrup and Oikos vanilla greek yogurt and rolled them up and ate them. So amazing. Thank you so much for the recipe, one of the best on All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Fast and simple to make. Be sure your oil or butter is hot enough before you pour your batter into the pan or on the griddle. I make homemade butter pecan ice cream and save the pecan flavored butter to use in making these pancakes. The result is delicious! Be brave when turning them, I use a rubber spatula. If the underside is nicely browned and you've got enough oil/butter in the pan, the pancake will slide around without any problems. Simply use the spatula to slide under the pancake ~ it will bunch up on the spatula, but when you flip it over, it will straighten out when you slide/push the skillet around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States