Barbara's Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
Absolutely brilliant and really versatile. I've added spoons of the sauce to soups. casseroles & stews. used it on it's own with pasta and added it to pasta sauce I'm in the UK and this style of sauce is not commonly found here. I've passed the recipie on to many friends. Thank you, Barbara!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is the best hot sauce. It does take a little time to simmer, but is well worth the wait. You can adjust the amount of heat with the amount of peppers you choose to use. This will keep in the fridge forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I thought this was a wonderfull basic recipe. as with all recipes, once you put in a few of your favorite extras, its just wonderfull. will use this one alot. THANKS BARB...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
The was a very good idea on how to make salsa. I usually make the fresh salsa but this has turned out to be much better. What makes it even better is, after cooking and it has cooled, put some into a blender and you have an amazing taco sauce to add to your easy to squeeze bottle. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This recipe was outstanding. If I could rate this more than a 5 it would be a 10 in my book. I added a little worchestire at the end and more peppers. My dad said (and he likes HOT sauce) this was the best he ever had. He has tried them all too. Very good! I will keep this as my secret too. ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was exactly what I was looking for a great hot/taco sauce good enough for everyday use. Will double the jalapenos next time, and add more garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Frugal Bungler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This is outstanding! Went a little heavy on the jalapenos, minced garlic and also added worcestershire. I cooked it down quite a while to get the consistency I was looking for and then after it cooled I pureed the daylights out of it. FYI I save the empty ketchup squeeze bottles and reuse them for my homemade sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fremont, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Very good ! I added a few more Jalapeno peppers and Garlic, but overall a real good sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
It's a fine recipe, but it's not "Hot Sauce". Any Texan will tell you it's "SALSA". Hot sauce is a thinner, liquid puree consisting mainly of peppers, vinegar and salt commonly served in a small, long-necked bottle and used to enhance the flavor of foods. Salsa, on the other hand, is a more coarse mixture of peppers, tomatoes, onions, etc. commonly used as a dip with chips or eaten with mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This was OK...on to the next salsa recipe, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States