Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
This pound cake is moist and yummy!! I used loaf pans, two large and two small. I added miniature choc chips to the small pans and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISB1022

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
This cake is super easy, super yummy, and my rugrat loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I have been making pound cakes for years and couldn't find my old recipe so used this one. I am sorry to say it was a major flop!! I rechecked everything to make sure I had added all of the ingredients and the temp was right.. but it turned out really bad. It was way too moist..wasn't cooked through (and my oven is very accurate). Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
I made this for my mom's Sunday dinner and it was a huge success! It was super easy to make and was very moist and delicious. Kids and adults both loved it. I did add 1 teaspoon of grated orange peel and 1 1/2 cups of frozen blueberries that I had dusted with flour. I also baked it about 10 minutes longer than the instructions called for, but I figured the blueberries added a little extra time to the baking. Excellent! Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I always need super easy recipes and this one did the trick! Easy directions, simple ingredients and the end result is just FABULOUS! I hope to make this one my "signature cakes". YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
Didn't particularly care for the texture of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
~Great~ pound cake. And huge! Enough for a couple of days even in a large family. I was looking for a pound cake that was similar to a lemon-tinged cake that my grandmother used to make. Very, very close. I wasn't crazy about the glaze; the cake truly stands alone. Add some strawberries and fresh cream and you will swear you have died and gone to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This cake is fabulous! I will definitely make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
I am just learning to bake this recipe was easy and i am told by friends that the cake was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEHDGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This is an excellent pound cake. My whole family loved it. The time spend preparing it is worth the taste and texture. I will definately be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States