Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
We have a cake rule in our house: I will bake a cake and we will keep half and we give the other half away. Well we wanted to keep all of this cake to ourselves!! This cake was really moist and not too sweet. I did not even make the glaze because the cake was delicious without it. This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELY C.
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Great pound Cake! My first time cooking it. I didn't have shortening and neither lemon extract, anyway I went ahead and made this cake using 1 1/2 cup of butter and added 1/2 tsp. of baking power. I had people coming over for dinner and that was dessert. They ate it even when it was still warm. They loved it. I had baked this cake several times with the same great results and keep giving away the recipe. Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Excellant! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
When i first read this recipe i was not sure a pound cake with no baking power,baking soda nor salt. I read the reviews and give it a try. I am glad i did a most wonderful cake will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPAFLINT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This reminded me of the pound cakes that the southern ladies in my church used to make and bring around to all the new neighbors... it was so good that I didn't even bother with the lemon glaze - it was perfect plain! It was also good with fresh whipped cream and strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This was my first cake recipe used from the internet and I was very pleasantly surprised how well the cake came out. It was very easy to follow and it was just as great as the description said it would be. Very, very moist my daughters description of the cake was it felt like velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. Very moist--heavy and light at the same time. I've been making pound cakes for 35 years and this is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This is a true pound cake, dense and moist. Made this cake to serve to my customers in my restaurant and got rave reviews. It's a keeper!! I added roasted pecans to the batter and topped the cake with caramel sauce and and icing sugar mixed with milk and a drop of pure vanilla extract, drizzled all over the top and sides of cake and put the remaining roasted pecans on top of that. Superb with a good cup of coffee. Use pure vanilla extract in the batter, that's what gives it the flavour and you don't need much. Artificial vanilla just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Excellent, easy pound cake that is MOIST. The only change I would suggest is lightening up on the lemon extract if you want a little less lemon flavor. My family really enjoyed it. Stays moist wrapped in plastic wrap for days. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I have been looking for a really nice, moist pound cake for some time. During the holidays here in Bermuda, pound cake is very traditional, so I really needed to find a good recipe. This one is wonderful. The only difference I made was I added 1 tsp of orange extract and about 1 tbls of orange peel. It was so good, the icing wasn't even needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States