Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I've made it 5 times!!! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This was so yummy -- just what I was looking for. I usually never mess with recipes on the first try, especially 5 star ones, but I had some buttermilk I wanted to use up so I substituted milk for buttermilk and I used 1 1/2 cups. After putting it in the oven I became worried that I had wrecked the cake by using too much liquid, but I was wrong. It came out of the oven after about 85 minutes and it was wonderful! I love the subtle tangy kick from buttermilk and it seemed like just the right ammount. My only dislike about this was the bottom crust was a little crisp for me, but the cake itself was so good. I also omitted the glaze, it really doesn't need it. I may make this again and I would use butter and/or maple extract instead of the lemon just to change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I thought this recipe was okay. I was really looking for a much more lemony cake....I added extra lemon juice and extra zest, but the end result wasn't what I was looking for. It was incredibly moist, not just one I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Loved it! I have used this recipe time and time again. I have even wrapped it and placed in the freezer, for those "spur of the moments" desserts! Love this cake! Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda McAnulty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Very dense and moist. I didn't have lemon extract so I used lemon juice, which may be why it doesn't have a very strong lemon flavor. I think it would be great served with strawberries. By itself (with glaze), I just thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I love pound cakes. This is my first pound cake I've baked. I'm very pleased to say that it turned out great. A great recipe. Tasted just like the ones I grew up on eating the after church Sunday dinners. Now I can cook it myself. Moist and dense. LOVE IT!!!!!! Thank you so much Barbara Jordan. Try it you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNATE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
WOW! I made this poundcake for Easter and a few people came back for a second piece! There was only one left at the end of the evening. I added a teaspoon of lemon rind and those who wanted added a scoop of fresh strawberries and whipped cream... although it was great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This is absolutely the best pound cake around. I have made it numerous times and it's always a hit. Have given the recipe away more times than I can count. Always a success, even for a beginner. And you are right, a stand mixer works best. I'm going to use this for my 25th Anniversary cake. Much Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Yummy!!!! I don't normally like pound cake but I found that I couldn't stop eating this one!!! I made it for my dad's birthday and my family loved it. Its very rich and moist...the only thing I did differently was use lemon juice instead of lemon extract. Its a very very GOOD pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Excellent pound cake! I didn't have shortening use so I just incereased the butter to replace the shortening amount and the cake turned out wonderful. I used the glaze recipe too, however like most have stated this cake stands alone just fine without it. I've been wanting to find a pound cake recipe that's easy and still tastes wonderful and I've found it! THANKS BARBARA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States