Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I thought this recipe was okay. I was really looking for a much more lemony cake....I added extra lemon juice and extra zest, but the end result wasn't what I was looking for. It was incredibly moist, not just one I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Loved it! I have used this recipe time and time again. I have even wrapped it and placed in the freezer, for those "spur of the moments" desserts! Love this cake! Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMCANULTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Very dense and moist. I didn't have lemon extract so I used lemon juice, which may be why it doesn't have a very strong lemon flavor. I think it would be great served with strawberries. By itself (with glaze), I just thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
I love pound cakes. This is my first pound cake I've baked. I'm very pleased to say that it turned out great. A great recipe. Tasted just like the ones I grew up on eating the after church Sunday dinners. Now I can cook it myself. Moist and dense. LOVE IT!!!!!! Thank you so much Barbara Jordan. Try it you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNATE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
WOW! I made this poundcake for Easter and a few people came back for a second piece! There was only one left at the end of the evening. I added a teaspoon of lemon rind and those who wanted added a scoop of fresh strawberries and whipped cream... although it was great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This is absolutely the best pound cake around. I have made it numerous times and it's always a hit. Have given the recipe away more times than I can count. Always a success, even for a beginner. And you are right, a stand mixer works best. I'm going to use this for my 25th Anniversary cake. Much Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Yummy!!!! I don't normally like pound cake but I found that I couldn't stop eating this one!!! I made it for my dad's birthday and my family loved it. Its very rich and moist...the only thing I did differently was use lemon juice instead of lemon extract. Its a very very GOOD pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Excellent pound cake! I didn't have shortening use so I just incereased the butter to replace the shortening amount and the cake turned out wonderful. I used the glaze recipe too, however like most have stated this cake stands alone just fine without it. I've been wanting to find a pound cake recipe that's easy and still tastes wonderful and I've found it! THANKS BARBARA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
We have a cake rule in our house: I will bake a cake and we will keep half and we give the other half away. Well we wanted to keep all of this cake to ourselves!! This cake was really moist and not too sweet. I did not even make the glaze because the cake was delicious without it. This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELY C.
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Great pound Cake! My first time cooking it. I didn't have shortening and neither lemon extract, anyway I went ahead and made this cake using 1 1/2 cup of butter and added 1/2 tsp. of baking power. I had people coming over for dinner and that was dessert. They ate it even when it was still warm. They loved it. I had baked this cake several times with the same great results and keep giving away the recipe. Thanks Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELY C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States