Barbara's Golden Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Very good. I added zest and juice of one fresh lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this cake a couple of years ago and it came out great. I love pound cake and this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERRICAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this cake for Thanksgiving and took in to my future inlaws house. Everybody went crazy over the cake! My fiance' thought it was the best pound cake he's ever had! It turned out GREAT! Thank you Barbara!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I bake a lot of cakes and this one went in the trash. It was terrible-- it did not taste like a pound cake at all. Please do not waste your time or effort in baking this cake. It does not deserve the 5 star rating by any means!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Absolutely stunning recipe. Turned out great - dense moist delicious cake worthy to present to any guest. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stara Zagora, Stara Zagora, Bulgaria
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
this cake was amazing ...it looked and tasted just like pound cake you get in the store! it was good, but i didnt do the icing thing i made a lemon sauce instead and put that on top and it made it even more delicious. im gonna use this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Good old fashioned pound cake - I used some buttermilk and added a couple extra eggs cause I had them handy. Came out great. Makes a dense, moist cake. Glaze was not needed. Serve with whipped topping mixed with your favorite yogurt and some fresh sliced fruit for a grand dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I think this recipe is really good. When I tated the batter I was somewhat skeptical bc it wasn't very sweet. I made it today and upon taking it out of the pan I had to try a piece and it was wonderful warm. It is also very good at room temp. I used all vanilla as I did not have any lemon extract. I halved the recipe and it came out good. I just think I may have let it cook too long as its a bit on the dry side. Also think next time I will add 1/4 cup more sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
This recipe is jsut as Barbara states. It comes out large and moist! I have tried several pound cake recipes and this one by far is The Best...I have had. I did make one alteration to it. I like more lemon taste that most so I put all 3 tsps. of lemon extract instead of as the recipe calls for. It still has a wonderful taste and texture it just has more of a lemon taste. I will also use this for the holiday time and make smaller cakes from it. This will make a wonderful gift with some of my home made jams! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Well... mines in the oven this very moment but i can't wait the batter was delicious so i'm betting the cake will be ten times better. I added a carton of fresh blueberries to mine.... can't wait....an hour sure is a long time... the anticipation is completely over whelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States